Life Musings

The Anti-Resolution Revolution

In response to Coffee Challenge: why I want to be a better me in 2022

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder
Published in
4 min readDec 20, 2021

--

Photo by Tengyart on Unsplash

2021 was a challenging year, not just for me, but I’m sure everyone on the planet, as we’re still all dealing with the Covid pandemic. But on top of all that it was challenging for me because I lost some family members (an aunt and uncle, the last of my mom’s family), and most recently my rescue dog Penny, just last week, who we only had for 2 years. But I don’t want to be a Debbie Downer and write about grief and loss, because I’ve done that elsewhere on Medium.

But I’ve decided that, for this upcoming new year, instead of making big changes that I probably won’t stick to, I’ll settle for the tiny wins, and try and remember to give myself a break when the bad stuff happens.

Basically an Anti-Resolution New Year’s resolution. I don’t want to make ‘goals’ that I can’t stick to and then just become disappointed in myself about not doing or not completing, which I think is what most of us do.

If I were to make a traditional resolution, the one big thing I’d want to work on would be to lose the weight I’ve gained since the pandemic (due to, again, grief). But if I did that I’d probably just be setting myself up for disappointment and failure, which would…

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦