What If You Could Relieve Your Most Refreshing Cry?

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2023

--

created in Canva by author

Today’s question is:

What if you could relive the very best, most refreshing cry you’ve ever had? What cause your tears and how did you feel afterwards?

Refreshing?! What?? I don’t think I’ve ever had a ‘refreshing’ cry. All my crying, even if it’s at something nice, makes me feel awful — because my eyes get super itchy afterwards and my tears sometimes burn my face around the more delicate skin of the eyes and cause it to go all red and raw and painful and irritated because of the salt.

So no matter the cause of my crying, whether therapeutic or not, they have never made me feel better and most likely just worse!

What about you? Have you had a ‘refreshing’ cry?

This is part of my ‘what if…?’ series inspired by Scenario Cards (which are packs of cards that come in 6 different varieties (self, the world and life; and gratitude, vision and impact) that inspire meaningful conversations designed by psychologists). You can check out the rest of the articles in this series here.

And check out my publications: Mindful Mental Health, Penny Press, and Beautiful Choices. Inkslinger Magazine is my personal publication which has fiction and nonfiction.

©Caitlin McColl 2022, all rights reserved.

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦