Who Knew Writing About Dogs Was The Way Forward!

What’s the mysterious secret?

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

(If you aren’t a Medium member and want to read this article in full for free, click this sentence! If you are a Medium member — thank you for your support!)

I was nearing 200 articles and I had not been distributed at all, not even once, until I wrote about a piece about How To Get More Out of Your Day, and it was chosen for further distribution with the topic of Mindfulness. Huh. I’d written about Mindfulness a lot, prior to that, so…what gives?

I kept reading about people whose pieces were being distributed more widely on a regular basis and I thought, what am I doing wrong? Granted I do write a lot of fiction and I know that’s not a super big thing on here, as much as the non-fiction and self-help and articles about making money, and how to succeed and how to get followers etc. And then I’d read about people complaining that their articles weren’t being distributed much at all and here I was, coming close to 200 pieces and not having been distributed once!

Am I really that bad a writer? I began to wonder… but then, I just happened to check through my pieces and noticed that one about having some sort of daily routine can help you live better was distributed and I felt like I’d stumbled across some magic secret!

--

--

Caitlin McColl
Dose Of Wonder

Writer on mental health, grief & loss, mindfulness, running, life musings (+ fiction and poetry!). ❤️coffee & dogs. Vancouver 🇨🇦