Subsurface Scattering

Johan Svensson
dotcrossdot
Published in
1 min readAug 17, 2018
Subsurface scattering shader (model downloaded from Unity Asset Store)

This is a subsurface scattering shader that I worked on for a while. It uses a different approach to coding light functions compared to the Toon Shader described in this post (https://medium.com/dotcrossdot/toon-shading-91da0edb3009). Instead of writing my own fragment shader I override the light function in the Unity standard shader.

This is still work in progress. I haven’t been able to make the normal map work with the translucency yet, and I’m also not completely happy with how the viewing angle affects the lighting.

Anyway, I’ll keep working on this and update this post if I’m able to improve the shader. Here is the source code so far:

The shader is based on this article by Alan Zucconi :

--

--