The growth of my participants

Otieno Ivan
DOT Kenya
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2018

For the time that I have been at CAP-Youth Empowerment Institute, Kisumu I have and I’m still witnessing my participants getting empowered each and every day. Majority of them are form four graduates and above all they are young, vibrant and ambitious. They are taking Hospitality, Security and Electrical classes at the institution. My emphasis to them has been that after their time at the institution, their focus should be on getting a job or creating job opportunities that will seek to create employment for others.

So far the institution has an entrepreneurship trainer, and I as the social entrepreneurship facilitator work hand-in-hand with the entrepreneurship trainer to ensure that the students who are my also my participants, get the very best in as far as entrepreneurship is concerned. My work majorly is to emphasize on the social impact of their business ideas, and for this I encourage them to think widely in terms of making their business ideas fulfill the triple bottom line i.e. benefit the community (people), the environment (planet) and earn profits.

The social entrepreneurship program that I am facilitating is so far doing well as my participants can articulate several issues very well. Through the program I have developed their personalities and this laying a strong foundation preceded by the core entrepreneurial modules such as asset mapping, saving, and financing among others. The participants are well mannered and disciplined and this has enabled me to have successful engagements with them.

The use of group discussions, brainstorming sessions, and class presentations have always made the learning experience lively. This learning experience will make my participants have the prerequisite skills, attitudes, knowledge and experience to enable them succeed as entrepreneurs.

Finally, I thank Digital Opportunity Trust Kenya and CAP-Youth Empowerment Institute Kenya (YEI) for this opportunity to implement the social entrepreneurship programme as a Community Leader.

With Madam Sellah Achwanya( in pink), the entrepreneurship trainer, and the participants. On this day at Equity Bank Kisumu, the participants had all their financial questions answered as they registered Equitel Lines

--

--

Otieno Ivan
DOT Kenya

Social Entrepreneur & Founder of Collarosta Technologies and Crafts | Climate Change Activist | Community Development Practitioner | Researcher | Activist