The Inspiring Chant

Jean Lin
Double Seven media
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2018
The scene of the match. (Photo by Zhuofen Chen)

“That is the first time I went to the field to watch football match, the atmosphere was amazing even though I didn’t know any words in Spanish or I cannot sing the song.” Zhuofeng Chen said. He is a football fan came from Coventry who went to Spain to see the match on 14th February. This game is the 1/8/ Champions League preliminaries. It is Real Madrid to Paris Saint German.

He also told me in this match, though the football fans from Paris were not arrived to one thousand people, when they were singing their chant still can make people moving on the scene. Here he shares me the scene chant video for us.

Tell the truth I haven’t ever watched live football match, maybe many people have some experienced as me, but I can feel the hot atmosphere through this video. Chant really is a big part of football culture, when such a big group of people sing a chant together, maybe we can’t hear the lyrics clearly, but the momentum really can give people power. Playing football needs sense of unity; I think chant also is the symbol of unity. As for fans, chant can make them close also can give power to players and encourage them. Different teams have their special chants, no matter what they are all worth to respect them.

--

--

Jean Lin
Double Seven media

University of Central Lancashire International journalism student