The One That Got Away

The Waino-Yadi GIF and the Long Winter of a Redbird Fan’s Soul 

Jason Robert
Jack Buck Stops Here

--

Look at it. Don’t avert your eyes. Let it burn into your retinas.

Acknowledge the stature of the men involved. Adam Wainright, the Cardinals’ ace and 2013 Gold Glover. Yadier Molina, the heart and soul of the franchise and the greatest defensive catcher of his generation.

Was the World Series lost right there, during the second inning of Game 1? Probably not, but it certainly felt that way in the moment. We had never seen this Wainright before. We had never seen him in a moment that appeared to overwhelm him. This was the man who buckled Carlos Beltran’s knees with a dagger of a curveball to win the NLCS in 2006. This was the man who took the mound just weeks ago and decisively closed out the Pirates in the NLDS. This was NOT a man any Cardinal fan expected to look completely lost on the mound in a World Series game.

Wainright was incredibly lucky to get out of the first inning with only three Red Sox crossing home plate. He appeared to have completely lost his bearings. I have never rewatched any game of the 2013 World Series but certain things I cannot forget. As the 6 feet, 6 inch Wainright lept to his feet to take the mound in the 1st inning of Game 1 he whacked his head hard on the low concrete ceiling of the visitors dugout at Fenway Park. It was caught by the Fox cameras. I thought to myself… this is not good. Then I told myself… this is Adam Wainright, he’ll be fine. He has come through in larger moments.

He was not fine.

As I said, I haven’t re-watched the game (and I won’t) but I remember the first inning. I remember the walks. I remember the Red Sox raking. I remember the deer-in-the-headlights look on Wainright’s face. I remember Yadi slapping his catcher’s mitt and barking at Wainright in an effort to right his listing ace. I remember the second inning. I remember the lashing that Wainright took. I remember Carlos Beltran’s remarkable grand slam-saving catch in right field. I remember the thrill of the days leading up to the World Series being replaced by utter bewilderment. The game would end up with the Sox winning 8-1, but it may as well have been 20-1. I remember my rage.

Somehow, young Michael Wacha rose to the occasion once again and led the Cardinals to victory in Game 2. After the miraculous (lucky? undeserved?) win in Game 3 all the pressure was on the Red Sox with two games remaining in St. Louis and serious pitching advantages looming for the Redbirds.

It was not to be. I will not rehash the rest of the series, let’s just say that Sports Illustrated didn’t produce a 2014 St. Louis Cardinals World Championship video.

But it was that play, that damn GIF that lingered. Watching the two Cardinal bulwarks fail so spectacularly was an unimagined catastrophe. The fact that it hurt so much was embarrassing.

Adam Wainright’s achievements in St. Louis FAR outweigh his knucklehead moment on that October night. It is cliche, but the Cardinals absolutely would not have been there without his outstanding season and they would not have won the 2006 World Series without his splendid performance as closer/savior.

Molina is beyond reproach. It was not his play to make. It still stings that he fills half the frame in “the GIF.”

I went to spring training for the first time this year. I watched the Cards at Roger Dean Stadium and caught two other road games. It cleansed my soul but it did not erase the memory. The GIF still played in my mind. A never-ending loop… I was Rust Cohle and this was my Carcosa.

Well, I just wanted to get this off my chest so I can move on. Waino does not need my forgiveness. He is a fine man a great representative of the Cardinals organization. If we take the Central again in ‘14, it will undoubtedly be because he led the way.

Now, this Saturday, March 16 of the year two-thousand and fourteen, I resolve to let it go.

God Bless You and God Bless Yadier Molina.

--

--