view from ‘charity towers’, vauxhall, 15-7-13.

‘A day like this’

Marina Arjona
Double Positive
1 min readJul 15, 2013

--

I’ve been writing a lot offline for ‘Double Positive’ lately. I got quite a few drafts waiting to be finished and published here, more about the process and thoughts behind ‘D+’. In the meantime, I’ve written a piece that I wanted to share, as it means a lot for me.

4 years ago, a day like this

I still remember the gut excitement

Wanting to talk not knowing where to start

Who to start with

Feeling lost

But knowing where I was

Starting a new life

My own

In a different language

But not foreign to me at all

Starting a new life in South London

Wanting to make it my own

No friends waiting for me then

But getting the chance to meet them

Learning to wake up after every heartbreak

I wouldn’t change a day like this

Because it has given me the chance to have all the rest

And to achieve

I would say achieve

Feeling a different country as my own

--

--