Best of Dover from Dover Staff

Dover employees love Dover for a number of reasons. Here’s their chance to share some of those reasons with you.

Dover Publications
doverpublications
Published in
7 min readDec 28, 2016

--

What did you work on in 2016 that was special?

Dark Reflections by Samuel R. Delany. Samuel R. Delany (known as Chip) wrote a book, originally published in 2007, about the life of the writer. I have been a fan of Delany’s writing since I was a young man. It is a pleasure to have a professional relationship with an author I so admire; having edited this book during numerous phone calls with Chip, listened to advice given to me, and being praised by Chip for advice I’d given him. Imagine that! Peter Lenz, Acquisitions Editor

I worked on My Inventions and Other Writings by Nikola Tesla. It’s special to me because it’s the first book I wrote the introductory note for, and because for the first time in decades it carries all of the original illustrations. Kathy Levine, the proofreader, discovered references to several figures in the text, and with the help of Jeff Menges (designer and, coincidentally, husband, whom I could pester about my obsession after hours), we found all the original diagrams. So, for the first time in about a hundred years, the serialized “article” is complete! Lynne Cannon Menges, Editor

Without a doubt the most memorable book I worked on in 2016 was Japandemonium Illustrated: The Yokai Encyclopedias of Toriyama Sekien. This is a collection of four 18th century Japanese works (never before available in English) listing the various demons and monsters of Japanese folklore. The book is magnificently illustrated and the translators provide great context and insight into each entry. I will get a copy of Japandemonium for my own personal library! James Miller, Editor

Corny but true, all of the books I worked on in 2016 are special to me in their own way. But one book in particular holds a special place in my heart and tackles an important subject matter — school bullying. Artist Andree Tracey took this assignment very seriously. A few of my friends’ children who are elementary school teachers have “tested” out the book in their classrooms and given me great feedback. My hope is that this book will help to prevent the spread of hateful and hurtful behavior. Diane Rubins, Acquisitions Editor

I’ve been at Dover for less than a year, but have already had the chance to work on some remarkable books. One that stands out is Elephi: The Cat With the High IQ, by Jean Stafford, and illustrated by Erik Blegvad. The book is a lovely snapshot of a time in New York City’s history (c. 1962) when it was possible for a highly intelligent cat to develop a warm relationship with a compact car. Jeff Golick, Acquisitions Editor

Since my dad mainly read sci-fi and fantasy, I was in constant supply of Robert E. Howard’s fabulous stories about everybody’s favorite barbarian, Conan. So I was thrilled when hearing that we were publishing an affordable anthology of Conan short stories and suggested what would become the final title, The Weird Tales of Conan the Barbarian. The Howard tales in our book appear just as they were originally featured in the legendary pulp magazine Weird Tales during the 1930s. Long live Conan! Tom Flynn, Copy Chief

2016 was the year of an unprecedented Presidential campaign. I enjoyed promoting our Bernie Sanders, Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump Paper Doll Collectibles in our marketing materials which aimed to add humor into the serious business of electing our President. I am proud that we published these books as a fun diversion for our costumers and they remain a happy memory for me in a controversial political year. Margaret Wolf, Marketer

From earliest childhood, I’ve been captivated by stories of kings and queens, noble knights, and crafty wizards. The tales of Camelot were always my favorites, so I was thrilled when Sir Thomas Malory’s The Romance of King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table became a splendid hardcover Calla Edition, which features brilliant color illustrations by Arthur Rackham. Donna Bell, Copywriter

There is one project that has occupied me far longer than any other during my time at Dover — 101 Great Illustrators of the Golden Age just went to press, and is due in January 2017. I have been working on this book for about four years, collecting the materials, writing it, designing it. It’s the biggest project I’ve assembled in my career, and I’m truly looking forward to its arrival. Jeff Menges, Designer

What is the most important thing you would like readers to know about Dover?

I know for a fact that Dover employees are very hard working and dedicated to present a quality product. I work next to some very talented designers in the art department at Dover. The cover designers put so much time into not only executing the covers but researching as well. From the birth of a book in Acquisitions through the actual printing of it to be presented to our customers is an unbelievable process. Dale O’Doherty, Designer

One thing that has always struck me about Dover is its incredible variety, and its reach. Many people only know Dover for one thing, and then are surprised to see what else we do. Once you know Dover, you’ll see it everywhere! I can’t count how many times I’ve been traveling somewhere and had a giggle at a display of Dover books in a gift shop. I love taking photos of all the places I’ve found Dover books — though sometimes friends joke I can’t escape work even on vacation! Leeann Atkinson, Marketer

What is a favorite holiday tradition or memory that you have with Dover books?

My favorite memory at Dover books is when I discovered the works of artist Eric Sloane. I call him the artist of love because his love shines in his presentation of an historic and nostalgic rural America. His art represents some of my most cherished memories of farm life and the family I love, especially my grandparents. My favorite painting of his is called Silent Porch from our book Eric Sloane’s America. I have so many fond memories of summers in North Carolina. Grandma sitting in her rocking chair on the porch with a church fan in one hand, Martin Luther King Jr. on the front, Jesus on the back. In the other she wielded a fly swatter that rivaled Venus Williams’s tennis serve of 129 mph! Angela Williams, Marketer

One of the more recent releases from Dover that I am most proud of is our beautiful book on the Mark Twain House in Hartford, Connecticut, The Loveliest Home That Ever Was. Inspired by the book, I made the pilgrimage to visit the actual house, and it did not disappoint. If you can’t make it to the actual home, I’m confident The Loveliest Home That Ever Was will do an excellent job of connecting Twain the author with Twain the family man. Ron Sacks, Marketer

I really enjoyed illustrating the Creative Haven Ugly Holiday Sweaters Coloring Book. I got to work on it over the course of several months, and when I was done with the illustrations I got to design the cover too! It kept the holiday season going for me all the way till April! (But I did eventually have to take down our holiday decorations at home by February…) Ellen Kraft Cover Designer

It’s amazing to be working at a company as an adult and come across so many books that you remember from your childhood that are still in print! I have many memories of having fun with Dover books as a child. Vanessa Putt, Acquisitions Editor

Before I ever dreamed of working at Dover, it was already part of a holiday tradition in my house growing up — as stocking stuffers! Every Christmas morning there would be little activity books awaiting, most of which would be completed before the end of the winter holiday! My family still uses these as stocking stuffers for the younger generation. Nora Rawn, Acquisitions Editor

A few years back I brought home a copy of Dover’s Nativity Stained Glass Coloring Book. Our children and I colored a bunch of the pages with markers and displayed them in the living room windows. They really looked great and added to the festive Christmas look of the house from both inside and out! I don’t know who had more fun–the kids or me. Jennifer D. Becker, Designer

--

--