Do real Americans wear masks?

Darrell Miller
Down in the Dingle
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2020
Photo by Martin Sanchez (altered by author)

To the Editor:

I read your article about the new policy urging everyone to wear masks and I have to say, I’m outraged. How dare they tell me to put a piece of cloth over my mouth? If I want to go around infecting people with a deadly virus, that’s my business.

True, some of them might be friends or family but that’s a risk I’m willing to take. Let other countries wash their hands, wear a mask and social distance. Not us. Living dangerously is an American tradition.

As is fighting for freedom. You think George Washington worried about his troops catching a cold while crossing the Delaware? Of course not! And if he could attack the Hessians at Christmas wearing a hat with no earflaps, surely we can do the same to malls.

This is America, not Canada. We could’ve become like them, a calm and boring country with free health care and shockingly few shootings, if only we’d let the Brits teabag us. But no. We’re gamblers. The American Dream may be as crooked as Three Card Monte but we’re still going to play.

Fortunately, we have a president who understands that. Our forefathers died so that we could have the freedom to make stupid choices. Let’s not let them down by making sensible ones.

Signed,

A Patriot

--

--

Darrell Miller
Down in the Dingle

Canadian but have lived in Japan for a long time so neither here nor there. Somewhere between.