The Kids in the Plastic Bubbles

A trip to a frightening dystopia

Simon Black
Down in the Dingle

--

There they were, the poor children, placed inside inflatable bubbles, and sent out into the world. If you look at the video, it’s tragic. They cannot even stand up inside these inflatable prisons. They keep falling down. But they are not hurt.

How can they breathe, I wondered?

It was a strange dystopian universe I stumbled upon in my Star Trek-like intergalactic travels. The people in this land called themselves Breeders. They bred beautiful offspring, children so gorgeous and innocent that the Breeders were sent into horrible anxieties — what if something happened to them? What if they were injured, or worse, killed? The Breeders were beside themselves with dread.

So they invented these magic bubbles to put them in. I have no idea how their children breathed inside the bubbles. The Breeders explained the science of it to me but it was beyond my knowledge level.

“How long will they stay in the bubbles?” I asked the Breeders.

--

--

Simon Black
Down in the Dingle

This is not the Simon Black that you know. This is a different Simon Black. He does not work in your organization or live in your city.