Who are the real victims of this crash?

Darrell Miller
Down in the Dingle
Published in
1 min readDec 3, 2020
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash (altered by author)

To the Editor:

I read your article about the new regulations for the financial sector and I have to say, I’m outraged. How dare they try to protect my investments? If I want to lose my life savings to a conman, that’s my business.

What about the real victims of this crisis, the bankers? Haven’t they suffered enough? Their bonuses have been slashed to mere millions. Five-car garages don’t pay for themselves, you know. And what’s the point of having one if you don’t have an extra Ferrari parked out front just to impress the neighbors?

Same thing with yachts. And private planes. Think of all the underpaid craftsmen who will lose their jobs. The super rich may be less than one percent of our population but they make all the important decisions so naturally they deserve the bulk of our wealth. This is America, not Cuba. Our forefathers worked hard to create a system that cheated the poor at every turn. Let’s not let them down by turning it into one that benefits us all.

Signed,

A Patriot

--

--

Darrell Miller
Down in the Dingle

Canadian but have lived in Japan for a long time so neither here nor there. Somewhere between.