Downshifting Tool #4

Carole Morris
Downshifting
Published in
2 min readOct 9, 2019

--

Getting the most out of the freedom of retirement

Imagy by Free-Photos from Pixabay

Advice from Wise Mentors

Think of three mentors — people you admire, living or dead, known to you or never met. They can be relatives, historical figures, movie stars, authors, religious leaders, your third grade teacher or a childhood best friend: anyone you admire.

Name them. Put their names on separate slips of paper or index cards on the floor.

Face your group of mentors (the slips of paper) and explain to them why you have invited them here, and what guidance you seek from them. If you’re stumped, here are some possibilities:

“How can I enjoy this next journey to my fullest ability?”

“What do I need to focus on in this next phase?”

“What new habits or activities would be positive changes for me?”

“What can you tell me that will prepare me for a really satisfying life?”

“What big dream can I make happen?”

“What can you tell me to help me overcome my fears for the future?”

Stand on the first slip of paper, and in the first-person voice of that mentor, answer the questions. Speaking as if you were the mentor is key. Record yourself (voice notes on your phone or any device you may have. You could also ask another person to act as your silent scribe). Say whatever first appears in your thoughts as you ponder each question or issue. Thank that mentor, and step onto the second slip of paper, and in the first-person voice of that mentor, answer the questions. Do the same with the third. When finished, listen to the recording and transcribe it. Read back what you’ve written down. Read it out loud.

What themes are present? What stands out?

--

--

Carole Morris
Downshifting

Living everyday like it’s Saturday: retired. I was born for this.