Opinion

When COVID Visits

I had an encounter with the undesirable COVID-19 in early August. It was a slight touch, considering the number of victims that this complex virus has wiped out so far. By Isabel Garcia Cintas.

Downtown NEWS
Downtown NEWS

--

I am back after a long absence. Just like the crested lark that lashes the gale …, as the singer-songwriter and poet Chango Rodríguez said. But I do not bring songs, instead I bring gratitude and hope.

Isabel Garcia Cintas reading at the DASS literary Salon Tribute to a Beautiful Language, precisely one year ago at Downtown Mana Contemporary.

I had an encounter with the undesirable COVID-19 in early August. It was a slight touch, considering the number of victims that this complex virus has wiped out so far. Still mild, because I got over it at home, but it carried the weight of two or three flu episodes together and a series of general complications. I had to stay in bed strictly for several weeks and was only recently able to get up. For all those who do not wear a mask when in contact with others, or who believe that this virus is a “hoax”, or that it is pure invention or exaggeration, the only thing I can tell you is that it is very real and I’m still not fully recovered. It is a slow process, very slow and also thankless; one day well, another more or less, and so on. I am thankful that I was able to sit in front of the computer for more than five minutes today without breaking down. I am thankful for every morning that I feel good. And the only thing I wish is that nobody else suffers this, because I cannot imagine what it would be like to have to be admitted to a hospital with VERY serious symptoms. I also thank my closest family and friends who gave me emotional support; from my bed, I was able to continue sharing moments with them. I give thanks for the technology that unites us in this virtual way, supplementing the physical presence with the written or spoken word. And I am immensely grateful for having a companion “made of iron” as we say, in my husband, who has treated me like a queen all this time, displaying inexhaustible patience and encouragement. My wish is that we all contribute so that there are fewer infections and this pandemic can be controlled.

Happy to be back.

Isabel Garcia Cintas is a local writer.

If you liked what you read, please share it. To receive Downtown News updates, register by clicking here.

--

--

Downtown NEWS
Downtown NEWS

A Multimedia publication exclusively focused on Downtown Miami. Staff Page.