VPD for a Product Everyone is Bound to Hate

Anonymous HKS Student
DPI-662: Digital Government
1 min readSep 16, 2016

Like many people in our class, I will be leaving HKS with some loans (and still have some debt from undergrad). Over the years I have become well acquainted with www.studentloans.gov, Sallie Mae, and the rest of the US student loan apparatus. It has definitely improved since the first loan I took in undergrad, but I still find the processes cumbersome and not well organized.

This assignment made me think through the challenges of designing a product that serve an important need, but are among the last things on earth people want to think about /spend time processing. It was much easier to think of the users pains than any other category…

Below is my Osterwalder et al inspired VPD graph:

--

--

Anonymous HKS Student
DPI-662: Digital Government

Musings on tech, development, and public policy for Digital Governance #DPI662