Dramatic outdoor portraits with one speed light for beginners

Hello Creators,

Hope you are all doing good and had a wonderful holiday weekend. I know these are trying times for us photographers, especially if you are a beginner photographer with very few clients. I know how hard it can be to purchase fancy equipment now more than ever. In this blog, I’m going to explain how you can shoot some Amazing Portraits at home or outdoors using cheap equipment. Here is a quick look at a portrait from the shoot:

Back lit outdoor portraits

I have to admit, I was once in your shoes running around and dreaming of buying all the fancy equipment. I’m fortunate enough to busy most if not all equipment over time. I recently started my YouTube channel and the theme of my channel is educate beginner photographers to push your gear to get some stunning results. Before I go into the details, I have to let you know that I been doing fashion and portrait work for almost 3 years now and I’m still learning. I want to share my knowledge with you, and we can grow together.

Here are my tips and tricks to shoot best quality lifestyle images using a single speed light, an umbrella, a camera of your choice, a light stand and a bowens mount.

First of all, you have to understand your camera well and shoot in manual mode. If you are shooting with a kit lens, that’s fine too as you will see in the following images, I shot…

--

--

PK
Photography tips, tricks and essentials for beginner photographers

A full time software engineer and a freelance fashion photographer