The 10 Personalities of DEI Champions.

Photo by Peter Arkle

While working in DEI for a number of years, I have come across many personalities in this field. I have decided to summarize them in a blog and will someday write a book about my experiences. Below I have listed 10 types of DEI personalities I see on a daily basis. I decided to share my experiences with you all.

The Diversity Adversary:

Diversity is exclusive and the term scares people, especially my White colleagues. Let’s just use the term equity and inclusion to make everyone feel comfortable.

The Identity Narcissist:

My DEI efforts are all about me, I’m in it for myself and to receive the publicity as a good person doing great work. Let me post every picture, Snap, etc of me doing what looks like impactful work. It’s only surface level but it makes me feel and look good!

The Good Intended Defender:

I’m not practicing diversity, equity, and inclusion as much as I think I am and if you point it out, it hurts my feelings, and I must become defensive.

The White Liberal:

I love everyone, and practicing diversity, equity, and inclusion makes us all better. Wait, what do you mean I’m not progressive. You people are never satisfied.

The Entitled Ally:

I get that I must understand my privilege and I’m working on it, it is your job, as the oppressed, to educate me. Share your experiences, teach me how to change.

The Active Ally:

I am working to understand my privilege, our struggles are not the same. I know you’re struggling and I’m going to figure out how to support your cause.

The DEI Conversationalist:

Let’s have conversations about DEI for decades, they make us all feel better. I’m not paying attention to the fact that change in the industry is not rapidly occurring we need to talk more about it. Let’s have another panel.

The Internally Oppressed:

I am working tirelessly in a company that promotes DEI like it’s part of our brand, but I can see from the inside they are not looking to make any real change. I’m stuck, disheartened, and growing more exhausted daily, and I don’t know what else to do.

The Experiencer

I have experienced discrimination and I am a marginalized identity. I want to see change, but the only lens I see it from, is my experience. The world only exist in my perceived reality and this is how I will approach DEI work.

The Optimistic Professional:

I know change is coming, I’ve seen the impact in company’s and I know exactly what needs to be done to continue making change. I’ve taken a number of battle scars during this journey, but I won’t give up because I see the impact. I’m working hard in systems and I know that I cannot do this alone. Change requires efforts from all of us, I will continue the work.

I have been the Internally Oppressed but transitioned into the Optimistic Professional. Where do you see yourself on the list?

~Dr. CI

--

--

Dr. CI
The DiversiTEA: Pour a Cup, Pull up, and Let’s do more than Talk about Change!

Dr. Cheryl Ingram aka Dr. CI, is a very successful entrepreneur, blogger, content creator and expert of diversity, equity, and inclusion practices.