Dream Symbols

Hummingbird Symbolism

Wisdom and guidance from the world’s tiniest master of flight

Nicole Rose
Dream Codes
Published in
6 min readAug 6, 2020

--

Photo by Anchor Lee on Unsplash

Hummingbirds, like all birds, have an inherent association with the free-flying, unbound nature of the soul. As such, much of its symbolism, drawn from its unique characteristics, is intertwined with this overarching theme.

For years hummingbirds have frequented my dreams. One even called me on a man's cell phone in a dream once. Lucky for me I was listening, because I really needed to hear what she had to say.

If hummingbirds have been sprinting in and around your life lately, then they likely have a metaphorical message for you. Granted, it’s summer and it’s their typical time to be buzzing about, but you know if they’re spying you the way you're spying them.

Lately, a whole clan of nectar lovers has taken to frequenting my windows, the trees in the garden, the flowers on my porch, and believe it or not — my face, when I’m sitting outside with my morning coffee.

With one of the little sprites just inches from my eyes, I wondered if she was thinking to poke one of them with her needle-point beak. She fluttered there for some 15 seconds, shifting her head side to side, examining me closely, then suddenly shot away.

--

--

Nicole Rose
Dream Codes

Dream-worker, Mystic, Lover of Divine Paradox, B.S. Psych, B.S. HDFS, Advocate for an Awakened Humanity & Conflict Resolution, Creatively-Conscious.com