There is Softness Here.

space in my lungs for the first time in months

Sarah L. Harvey
Dream It Up
Published in
2 min readNov 22, 2023

--

Photo by Ilona Panych on Unsplash

i’m chilled to the bone
it poured rain all day
the sky turns black as kohl
unzip it to find stars
the hum of the darkness
and me.

i’ve been so measured lately
stuck flying circles in my head
tonight i’m not holding back
emotions pour out
finally
a necklace of pearls broken
and no longer perfect.

i don’t need fancy words now
i need my heart
i need to make something
to hear myself
not choked out
by routines and expectations
the shiny things i think will impress the world.

i turn my back on it
unfolding in the raw silk of night
touching the edges of what’s possible
no longer sharp
i feel skin again
flesh and human rebelliousness.

--

--

Sarah L. Harvey
Dream It Up

Writer, poet, lover of nature. Therapist. Tender heart. Wild soul. My publication is Dream It Up.