Desert Meteor and My Estranged Daughter

Devon Skidmore
Dream Journal
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2018

It was dusk. First thing I remember I was standing in Utah Valley looking east at the Wasatch Mountains. A meteor lit up the sky and fell almost parallel to the horizon. It made a wide arc, changed course, and headed towards me from the west. As it approached a helicopter flew from behind me and shot it down with a machine gun.

The impact explosion was minimal but I started running away from it along a railroad track. A loudspeaker from a nearby building played the news. It reported that the meteor must have been aliens because the government was sending out messenger trains. I was passing a train yard and countless train engines started leaving.

As I moved from the tracks it became daytime and I was in an old western style town. It was still present day and a mini van pulled up net to me. The group of people inside invited me to come along with them so I got in. They never said where they were going and I didn’t ask.

Driving through the desert we stopped at the top of a cliff. I got out and observed the surrounding territory. An eagle flew up from below and transformed into a friend of mine from high school. He said he could help me get to the bottom then pushed me off. As I fell he transformed into an eagle again and caught me before I hit the bottom. He flew away after setting me down, at least I assume he did because I never saw him again.

I walked along the bottom of the cliff and came to a cave. Upon entering I found a group of people living there. As I moved through the crowd a young girl recognized me and ran to hug me. We both became very emotional as I recognized her as my estranged daughter (who I don’t have in reality). That was the last thing I remember.

--

--

Devon Skidmore
Dream Journal

I’m a UX Designer and part time Yeti. I like making stuff, solving problems, and making stuff that solves problems. I live in Utah and can be found in the wild.