Let’s Speak About Love

Camilla Marsh
Dreamer Do
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2020

“Tell your story…” this is the writing prompt we see when we open a fresh draft on Medium, and ladies and gentlemen, do I have a story for you.

I am falling in love.

That in itself is a story in entirety. It infers a fairy tale from beginning to end, a prince and princess (or combination there of) and a happily ever after.

For the very first time in my extraordinarily ordinary Earthly existence I am experiencing the dizzying, disorientating, delightfully delirious, utterly mad business of falling in love.

I forget to eat, I hardly sleep and I have become entirely dysfunctional and useless to the rest of humanity. Keep that heavy machinery away from me for I am in love.

Ok, I have never operated heavy machinery in my life (I am far too appropriately cast in the role of princess for that) but you get my drift. The mechanical workings of this human life have become gibberish to me. I now know first hand and double hearted why true love can be captured only in poetry.

The mind simply cannot grasp what only the heart can speak. The depths of these unchartered seas that flow so deep. The stars and the moon are the one true tongue, for a song so sweet, so heavenly sung.

You see where I am going with this.

So if the great secret quest of humanity is to experience this discombobulation of pure loving ecstasy, why are we so afraid to speak of it? Why do we leave it to the poets and songwriters of great to express what we feel inside with their cadences, lyrics, metaphors and rhyme?

I can’t help it, the poetry is streaming through the porous fountain of my heart.

Yes this is corny, yes this is cheesy, yes some of you may have stopped reading by now. But I will carry on. For I am in love. And being in love is a quite an appealing place to be.

We are so afraid to speak of love, to voice our deepest desires and longing for union because we fear it will never find us, or if it does, that it won’t want to stay. We are so scared of passionately proclaiming love that we never venture forth from the safety of the harbour into the unchartered sea.

But here’s the trick (and the truth); enter one of my favourite quotes by Rumi:

When you pluck up the courage to live a full life, to fling yourself into adventure, sorrow and strife. When you don’t discern between what’s wrong and right. When all that matters in the pure delight. Of living a life well lived and a heart deeply felt. Is when within, your soul will melt.

Yep there goes that poetry again.

And yes, I agree with your deepest fear, that Love may come and then disappear. But what is life if not an experienced totality of the emotional spectrum of all humanity?

Enter another of my favourite quotes:

Yes Love will dismantle your entire existence, she will present your deepest fears wrapped in a beautiful bow and push you to the next step of growth. She’ll rob you of words and scatter your mind until you forget what it was you were trying to find.

What is the purpose of life at all if it is not to experience Love? The Earthly experience of Heaven above? So why not take a risk, let your heart pump poetry, let your mind become muddled and your soul set free.

And to conclude this outpouring of loving glory, a quote from yours dear truly:

If we were all in love all the time, the world would be completely dysfunctional.

But maybe that is just what our world needs.

--

--