Maybe, life is worth living.

Amulya Raghavan
dreamlands
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readJul 14, 2021

I bought a new bicycle yesterday. I’m very excited. My mother has named it, “Kia” and I think it fits. I rode it for the first time today morning and it was wonderful. :)

The breeze on my face, having people look out for me because it’s evident that this is my first time (in a long while) riding a cycle, my legs aching in the best way possible…. for some reason, I felt very relaxed and reassured. I’m not a very optimistic person, but something about all of these happening tugged at my heartstrings (the same asshole doctor I mentioned earlier also accused me of being ‘heartless’).

I finished watching this k-drama called, “The Light in Your Eyes” and my god did it make me cry like a BABY. I started it yesterday and when I was on the second episode, I was already crying my eyes out!

It’s not a conventional rom-com/feel-good drama. There is romance, but it’s like a side piece. The main focus of the drama was to introspect the difficulties of everyday life and they did so in the most fantastic way possible. There were some drawbacks, some stories I wish they explored a little more, but I’m still happy with it. The plot twists are sensational, it might take you a while to get it.

Starting this drama during my PMS/PMDD phase was probably a bad idea. But I also needed a good cry. There’s a monologue the actress delivers towards the end and it’s as follows:

Even if you’re struggling right now, everyone alive has the right to enjoy all this every day. Even if one ordinary day is followed by another ordinary day, life is worth living.

This drama had me bawling my eyes out and I’ll probably continue crying for the next few days. Despite the loopholes, this really got me thinking: Maybe, just maybe, life is worth living. Obviously, this doesn’t dissolve my suicidal intentions, but it’s a good break. Recently, I chided myself for romanticizing washing the dishes. Later, I told myself, ‘Maybe that’s what living is about. You make the most out of the most mundane things.’ Since then, I haven’t stopped thinking about it.

Anyway, those are my thoughts. I can’t cry now because I have therapy in a few. So I’ll cry later, lol.

Have a great day!

With love,

Amulya.

--

--