Musings and a book.

Amulya Raghavan
dreamlands
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMay 16, 2021

I was watching an ASMR video today and she said something that really resonated with me and I wanted to share that with you.

“It’s not too late.”

This caught me off guard. I wasn’t prepared for what “it’s not too late” would mean. To be fair, when you’re experiencing tingles, you wouldn't really expect someone to say something that sentimental and in a very earnest manner.

We’re often caught between the hands of time, always saying “there isn’t enough time for this or that,” and with the way the world is spinning, there doesn’t feel like there’s a lot of time to spare. But I sat down and ruminated with the thought — “what does it mean to me? that it’s not too late?” In a flurry of sending pitches and getting ghosted, my world felt like it was spinning at three times the normal speed it does. And sometimes, I feel like my life is ahead of me and I’m stuck in the same place. No matter how many steps I take, I feel like I’m in the same spot, watching things pass me by. A very happy person would say, “be in the moment!” or some crap like that. There’s something about this moment that I don’t like and maybe, for once, I just don’t want to be.

I don’t know if that makes sense, but “it’s not too late” made me feel like I was finally able to breathe. I was so caught up with the fact that nothing was going right, but the second she said it’s not too late to do what I want, I felt as if someone applied balm on my soul and said it’s okay.

I usually spend my days feeling every minute pass by painfully, or sometimes the day just passes and I don’t remember it. Maybe, it’s not too late for me to try something new. Maybe, it’s not too late for me to read a book, find a job that pays, read poems or just allow myself to live. Maybe it’s not too late to realize that you can and should indulge in your hobbies. Maybe it’s not too late to realize you’re on the right track, even if it doesn’t feel like it.

Maybe, it’s not too late for you, too. :)

Whatever it means, maybe there is hope that things will get better? Slightly?

It’s not too late to do whatever you want. Ruminate in that thought for a little bit.

I’ll leave you with a book that I particularly enjoyed. It’s called “Maybe You Should Talk To Someone” by Lori Gottlieb. Here is a link for downloading: https://oceanofpdf.com/authors/lori-gottlieb/pdf-epub-maybe-you-should-talk-to-someone-a-therapist-her-therapist-and-our-lives-revealed-download/

It’s never too late,

Amulya.

--

--