Dearest Andrew,

Albert Serna Jr.
Dreams of Death
Published in
2 min readSep 11, 2017

My dearest Andrew, how I miss you ever so much. Each night is a pain as I lay alone in a strange city, counting the seconds until you and I once again meet. The city is bore, and there is much to tell you. In the city, days are plotted out by an always changing layer of fog that blankets the streets a dull gray. I have never in my life seen such a frightful wonder, it makes me question if it is my loneliness that summons it in the mornings and late afternoons. Those are the times I feel most vulnerable. Beyond the fog, deeper in the city, the people share some sort of convoluted view of life. So many here wage war within themselves and amongst friends only to forget their words and actions so suddenly. I have yet to find a sensible person with whom to connect, and as a result I feel isolated. When I walk about on my own, through hilly streets and through the subways I find myself more often then not being enveloped by the pretentiousness of it all. Everything from the art to the culture to the basic conversation is done with such an air of vanity that I get sick in the stomach. The water is cold and the wind moves ferociously, just like the people who live here. The smell of brine is a lingering cloud that one can never get used to.Even eating is less filling, the flavors from home just do not match. So much energy and love that people put into their cooking back home seems forced or fake, it makes for a truly dismal dinner.

My love, all of this is a lie. I have found myself once more in love with a strange and beautiful city where passion and pride move through people in waves of elegance and beauty. People have been warm and welcoming, offering to help when I need it most. The hills give life to the fog as the chilly wind lightly kisses your face with the smell of the ocean. The subtle pleasure of walking through the streets on a brisk September morning is truly how I feel God.

None of this, however, could ever compare to a single moment in your arms. I miss you and I long to kiss you as much as I possibly can. My life, my love, my world and my will, heaven only knows where I’d be without you. Come back to me quickly, we have a life to build.

Yours now and always,
Albert.

--

--

Albert Serna Jr.
Dreams of Death

Journalist, Traveler, Homo-Extraordinaire. Let’s get weird! CLOD.