Second Chance

12–16–15

Albert Serna Jr.
Dreams of Death
1 min readFeb 29, 2016

--

My neck
It’s tight on my neck
It’s tight on my neck and I’m kicking
It’s tight on my neck and I’m kicking and fighting

I’m kicking and fighting but I don’t really care
I don’t really care cos I don’t see the point.
I don’t see the point but I know that you do,
I know that you do cos you’ve made it this far and quitting right now would be so unfair.

It would be so unfair to the words in this book
And the world that we’ve built
But the rope on my neck is now much too tight
And I’m grasping for air and my vision does blur

Now I’m fighting really hard to just stay afloat
And the air in my lungs has all but run out
A few seconds more and I’m sure to pass out, but the knot comes undone and

My knees then give out
I’ve coughed up my lunch and rush out the door
This new chance at life what is it all for?
Depression’s still here but guess I am too.

--

--

Albert Serna Jr.
Dreams of Death

Journalist, Traveler, Homo-Extraordinaire. Let’s get weird! CLOD.