How People With Insanity Are Seen

Society has an easy way to put them away fast.

Aimée Sparrow
Dreamscapes in the Simulacrum

--

Content License

One time, one of my psychotherapists suggested that my case: going insane and experiencing psychosis while also undergoing a spiritual awakening, reaching a state of samadhi, and feeling enlightened was not the norm. Usually, those who undergo manic episodes mysteriously disappear and go on weird excursions out in the wild, taking drugs or sleeping on the streets for a while before returning home.

People with insanity are feared — they are not seen as enlightened mystics. It’s extremely rare for me to have had the experience I had when I did. I owe it to my lucid dreaming practice and my propensity for extreme self-introspection. In a way, I feel like my life is a lie and that if things had gone differently and I had found my spiritual teacher, I would have ended up in a completely different situation. Perhaps all things happen for a reason, and the fact I went through all this struggle and suffering is why I can write this today.

I believe those with bipolar disorder see without a doubt some profound and well-hidden truth about all of existence that many of us fear so much our minds themselves keep it away from us to preserve our sanity. Indeed, those with bipolar have already gone insane and returned unscathed. No additional limits are placed on where we…

--

--

Aimée Sparrow
Dreamscapes in the Simulacrum

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com