You May Be Too Creative to Engage in Collaborative Storytelling

Respond as you would, yet not as you really would.

Aimée Sparrow
Dreamscapes in the Simulacrum

--

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

The popular game Dungeons & Dragons, has become synonymous with collaborative storytelling including lore familiar to those who follow and understand the norms of fantasy worlds. Sometimes, if your ideas are too out of whack for the standard and accepted notions that take place, as set up by your dungeon master, then you will be faced with frustration.

My character, who I generated with as much freedom as I thought I had, is of class: wizard. That means, she undergoes a progression of growth from level to level with specific powers. Little did I know what she focuses on was not under my control or my jurisdiction. If I wanted her to control the structure of reality and time, primarily, I could not. I had to go with what the character sheet says and where and when her powers manifest, regardless of what I would want her strengths and weaknesses to be.

Inspired by MBTI, I decided she would be an ISTP:

Tolerant and flexible, quiet observers until a problem appears, then act quickly to find workable solutions. Analyze what makes things work and readily get through large amounts of data to isolate the core of practical problems. Interested in cause and effect, organize facts using…

--

--

Aimée Sparrow
Dreamscapes in the Simulacrum

An explorer of the philosophy behind psychology and what we dream to inspire peace and solace from suffering. aimee.sparrowling@gmail.com