Two Kia Rio models, one red sedan and one blue wagon, are displayed in front of a background depicting a city at night.
Mad4Wheels.com

Drew’s Reviews

The 2020 Kia Rio S is Good for the Price, But is It Enough to Improve Kia’s Image?

This subcompact doesn’t feel as inexpensive as it is.

Drew’s Reviews
Published in
5 min readJul 3, 2020

--

Some still see Kia as a “cheap and disposable” brand, especially the entry level model, the Rio. That was true for many years, ever since Kia came to the US in 1994. They were known for being horrendously unreliable, they copied styling from Mercedes and Jaguar in a feeble attempt to be “luxurious”, and they felt made in North Korea.

But all that has changed.

Now, nine years after Kia began their turnaround, I’ve purchased a 2020 Kia Rio S, and it’s better than I ever expected.

Initial Thoughts:

I needed a new car, and while I typically would recommend buying a used car, I wanted a car I didn’t have to worry about that had a warranty. The Kia Rio is the least expensive new car Kia makes, starting at $15,850 for the Rio LX sedan. An extra $400 gets you into the S model, which adds a center armrest, cruise control, rear USB outlet, split-folding rear seat with adjustable headrests, and keyless entry. Another $800 buys the Tech Package which I’ll get into later.

--

--

Andrew McNeal
Drew’s Reviews

I have been passionate about history, cars, and writing since I was a child. Find out more here: https://medium.com/illumination/introduction-andrew-mcneal-3ff2