Moms and kids and all that bullshit

Hey Mom, I Have Friday School

Yo, ma. If I get two more tardies in first period, I’m kicked out of class.

Ginger Cook
Drop a Line Pub
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2023

--

Looks sweet, doesn’t he? Author’s photo

When they were little, I called them curtain climbers.

Except for one, they are all still curtain climbers, maxing out at 5'1, 5'4, and 5'7. However, my youngest looks like he might hit 6 ft and piss his siblings right the hell off.

Height doesn’t define you. I’ve been telling them that for years. My 5'1 daughter is one of the strongest people I’ve ever known.

But it doesn’t mean I don’t get to tease them about it. After all, they get their height from me.

Another way they take after me is by gifting me with gray hair, sleepless nights even though they are all nearly adults, bad grades, smart mouths, broken backs, and the list goes on. Just like I did to my poor, sweet mother.

I never broke my back though.

August 15th, 2022

The second week of school, Senior year. A conversation between my 17-year-old son Hunter and myself.

How was your day, honey?

Fried.

Ok…So you’re tired, I think?

--

--

Ginger Cook
Drop a Line Pub

Severely depressed. Anxious about everything. Sound familiar?