Speaking English Can Make You Multilingual

Vanessa Brown
Drop a Line Pub
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2022

--

No I’m serious, read on…

Studying Psychology. Photo by Vanessa Brown.

I have lived in many countries around the world, five of which are native English speaking countries. Teaching English as a Second Language has made me realize how multilingual our language actually is. Between slang expressions, local colloquialisms, and pure linguistic madness, being fluent in English doesn’t mean that you can speak South African, Australian, American, New Zealander, or Canadian.

My poor students have no idea how confusing our language becomes once fluency is attained!

Having spent four years in New Zealand, I know that jandals go on your feet and that a bach lies quietly near the ocean. That saying “sweet as” is one of the best compliments you can give and that milk is not the only thing you can buy in a dairy.

Being born and raised in South Africa, I know what to do with plakkies and takkies — here’s a hint, they, too, go on one’s feet. I know that you will get a fine if you go through a red robot and that everything good in life is lekker!

When spending time Down Under you may need to find a dunny after drinking too many stubbies as it’s a bevvie that goes straight through you.

If you have one too many in the US, you may become a tool, especially if you’re a bubba in a honky tonk fixin’ to raise a little hell.

Of course, heading on up to the Great White North (Canada), things become a little more civilized, but make sure that you have your loonies and toonies ready and bring a few extra toques as it gets cold up there!

I know that a jumper and a sweater are the same thing and that a Kleenex and a tissue perform the same function. You may need a mortgage or a bond should you decide to purchase an apartment or a flat, and moving in will require the use of a bakkie, ute, or truck.

For a night on the town don’t forget your fancy handbag or purse and be sure to don your nicest vest or waistcoat. If you’d like to wear a vest in Australia or New Zealand, you’d best be going to the beach or hanging out around a barbie — wearing a tank top to a barbecue for my North American readers. Don’t be putting gas in your car in countries that use British English, petrol is a far better option.

I can pronounce Whakatāne, Karrinyup, uMgungundlovu, Bexar, and Newfoundland correctly, after some schooling from the locals of course. Speaking of said locals, I have also learned to identify a Saffa, Kiwi, Aussie, Yank, and Canuck by their accents.

In Australia and New Zealand, I have put ‘ees’ and ‘ohs’ at the ends of truncated words to be understood. Having one’s rellies over in New Zealand can result in having to run to the bottle-o in Australia when the bevvies run dry. As every native South African does, I have used the word “shame” to mean everything from cute to expressing deep empathy for another’s loss.

I revelled in the use of y’all during my time in the American South and may be close to putting “eh?” at the end of my statements from the few years that I have spent in Canada.

I’m aware that other languages can also be multilingual, especially after living in two Spanish speaking countries, and whilst I have no knowledge of these intricacies, I do know where to order a piña colada and where to order a margarita, what a Gringo and a Tico are, and when to call someone chica and when not to.

For my non-native English speakers, you have my condolences. For my Saffas, Kiwis, Aussies, Yanks, and Canucks, cheers, bye bye, hooroo, later, see ya, take care.

What words made all of y’all take a step back and say, “what was that now?”

--

--

Vanessa Brown
Drop a Line Pub

Author, content creator, teacher, and recovering digital nomad. I have lived in six countries, five of them with a cat: thewelltravelledcat.com.