How do you enjoy supporting the musicians you love?

Sean Adams
Drowned in Sound
Published in
1 min readFeb 15, 2023

How have you liked supporting the musicians you love?

What’s felt grubby?

What feels fine for “creators” (podcasters, YouTubers, journalism, etc), but doesn’t make sense for music?

I’m working on something about 💰 the financialization of fandom 💰 and curious of your thoughts.

I’ve enjoyed using Twitch to support some YouTubers like Munecat and media outlets like TYT but not found musicians/DJs/labels I love on there

I’ve not kept up Patreon subs for some podcasts as I don’t have time/£ to justify the costs (most music pods are marketing)

I really love a few Substacks but I have email overwhelm and don’t always have time to keep across them so haven’t upgraded to premium

And most musicians use mailing lists as marketing tools, rather than an enriching newsletter (Patti Smith’s feels like an exception to that)

Mostly I support the artists I love through buying merch and gig tickets

Have sometimes felt like my pay what you can Bandcamp purchases have been more like donations than because I want/need to own the files

Perhaps because collecting files klangs with access to the music

Bandcamp Friday will reach its third anniversary in a few weeks time and I’m doing a range of podcast interviews and pieces about what’s next for music and what else is/isn’t currently working.

Search for “Drowned in Sound” wherever you get your podcasts or sign up to my new Substack newsletter for more thoughts on all this http://drownedinsound.substack.com

--

--

Sean Adams
Drowned in Sound

Founder: http://drownedinsound.com // Social Media producer for BBC Radio 6 Music // Twitter @seaninsound