THE List

Luca Pozzi
Drowning in Data
Published in
2 min readAug 21, 2019
“ He’s making a list, And checking it twice”

A few days ago I had to pack for my lovely wife’s Vikingshølm crossing in Tahoe, and I realized that, despite that not being my first Rodeo, I still did not have a proper checklist to reuse.

I am now packing up for my next Adventure and I decided to jot down a basic list of must haves for my marathon swimming.

In another post I will go through my actual basics, explaining why I chose what and giving a bit more of context, here I’ll just list the items themselves with a (proposed) quantity (which I rarely follow)

I hope this will, first and foremost, help me to pack up, and secondly, offer a blueprint for other people to use.

  • Goggles (4X: 2 dark+2 clear)
  • Antifog spray+rag (in case they get dirty during the swim)
  • Earplugs (4 pairs)
  • Caps (3 or more, depending on how much you believe in Karma)
  • Bag Balm (or Vaseline)
  • Sunscreen (at least 2 tubes) + Desitin if it’s a long swim
  • Gloves (to apply grease and sunscreen
  • Suit(s) (I usually pack at least 3, which is totally an overkill…)
  • Powder Feeds (Carbo Pro + Perpetuem): At least a bucket of each (you never know how long it’s gonna be)
  • Water (at least 2 Gallons) to brew the feeds.
  • Gel Feeds (a lot of them and different flavor in case you get tired)
  • Solid Feeds (e.g. waffles, bars, etc.. in abundance for the same reason above)
  • Bottles (I bring at least 3 metal thermos and 3 plastic ones filled up already, but consider bringing one for clean water)
  • Rope (length can vary depending on boat type)
  • Carabiner(s) (optional: depending on the rope)
  • Blinkies (at least 4)
  • Glow-sticks (optional, required by some swims, redundant for others)
  • Zip-ties (usually for the glow-sticks, but you never know…)
  • Rubber bands and/or duct tape (for combining gels and water bottles)
  • Warm clothes & Towel
  • Advil (and/or whatever meds you might need)
  • Mouthwash and/or Electrolytes (depending on Salt/Fresh Water)
  • Anti-acids (if your stomach overreacts)

--

--