dryft Chicago

5/1/2014 — first run dryft

David Hooker
dryft away

--

My relationship with running has evolved over the last three years. It was first the output of a determination to be healthy. Now it’s a lifestyle. I don’t always enjoy a run, but self-loathing starts if I haven’t been for a day and I always feel good about myself when I’m done. However I might feel about it, running is a fantastic way to see a city, especially one that you’ve not seen before. It’s also the perfect remedy to four hours on a plane sandwiched between two obese business men.

As soon as I check into my hotel, I unzip my case and rummage for my runners, shorts, and trusty hoodie. There’s a frantic moment when I almost leave the room without my keycard, but a few seconds later I’m in the elevator stretching my calves. As I exit the foyer, I mark the start of my dryft, and make a left. Lake Michigan is left, I know because I asked the doorman. My first impression of Chicago is that it’s trying hard to be New York, at least architecturally. But, that’s not necessarily a bad thing, and as I make it to the edge of Lake Shore Drive, I turn to see what should be a formidable skyline. But, I’m too close to the buildings to see their collective silhouettes. So, I decide to run away from them for a better view. Luckily, that direction seems to include a park.

I’m not the only one to have taken this decision, but I’m still part of a select bunch. As I pass underneath a footbridge, I burst through the bedroom of a less fortunate soul. For a moment I worry that I’ve jogged into the set of The Wire. I quickly overcome the stereotype, mostly thanks to the sight of people playing American Football on a floodlit green carpet. I make my way around their practice session and turn to see if that skyline is now in view. Still too close. No worries, the park goes deeper. This time I go over a footbridge, and on the other side I’m welcomed by Abraham Lincoln.

The 16th President is guarding the start of a boarded path that goes around a pond (with Lake Michigan just a few metres away, pond is the right adjective). Obviously a recent development, it’s artistically lit on both sides and although I can’t see the far end, it’s clear that it doesn’t matter which way I go as both options would lead back to here. For some reason, anti-clockwise seems more natural, so off I go. The sound of my feet on the wet boarding makes me feel like some kind of athlete and soon the far edge of the pond appears. There is a pub! It’s closed. As I reach it, I look back across where I have come, and finally I can see what I came for. There, dressed in black, is the Sear’s tower, John Hancock Center, and the rest of the Chicago skyline ensemble. I allow myself a picture and a glance at my progress. I’ve gone 3.5K and in decent time. Now that I have seen the wood, it’s time to get lost in the trees and see Chicago close up. I thrust my phone back in my pocket and return to the rhythm of the boards. As I coast past wise Abe, I read a sign thanking me for visiting Lincoln Park.

--

--

David Hooker
dryft away

Brand Director @TravelPerk. See our brand at https://brand-overview.travelperk.com. Formerly @Prezi. Dog walker. Long sentence hater.