DSC Core Team Interview

Shireen
GDSCVITBhopal
Published in
10 min readJan 17, 2021

Welcome to the Developer Students Club interview session. We will encounter core team members at DSC VIT Bhopal with a few questions to unravel their vision and perspective towards the community they represent.

With the best interest, I implore you to see this as a landmark for an exciting journey that awaits all those who seek knowledge and understanding through others’ experiences in DSC.

Core Members

Shireen: Good evening all, and hearty congratulations on your selection as core members at DSC VIT Bhopal.

Everyone: Thank you.

Shireen: Abhishek, let's begin with you. As the Lead, how is DSC working so far for you?

Abhishek (DSC Lead): DSC taught me something that I can’t learn by myself, i.e, leadership, teamwork, and decision-making skills. I realized how important it is to have a good communication for a community to work efficiently. Apart from soft skills, it also enhanced my coding skills.

Shireen: Leads, I would like to know your perception about DSC and what made you choose to be a part of such an intriguing sector in your initial years of learning?

Aman (ML Lead): I look at it as an opportunity for young minds to work collectively to make use of the skills we acquire for solving real-life problems and a goal that I aim for, is to be in a position to support the grounds on which such an empire is built on and that continuously improves to reach the highest potential.

Ishika (Content and Digital Marketing Lead): I was always intrigued by Google DSC. With Code-In, Web Rangers, and Summer with Google, I grew fond of development even more than before. To add more, I believe in giving back to the community. DSC ensured that I work hard towards all this.

Abhishek (DSC Lead): “Giving back to the community” is actually what impressed me in her interview.

Shireen: That great! clearly shows your dedication towards DSC.

The responsibility each one of you is entrusted with gives a structure to the design of the club as technical teams and non-technical teams. It’s alluring to know how your knowledge has been a key to all the recent success that the club has earned. Sarthak, would you like to share your previous experiences with us as you influence as Technical lead.

Sarthak (Technical Lead): Sure. I feel like I have had my fair share of development experience till now. This is because I’m a keen learner and I have an inquisitive personality which makes me want to explore new avenues whenever possible. This mindset helped me to work with some established places such as Facebook, Mozilla and not only that but also in budding startups such as Bottle. Being the tech lead at DSC helped me become an all-round developer and a better person by giving me an opportunity to help those who are around me.

Abhishek (DSC Lead): It is very inspiring to have a person of this caliber to be among us.

Anjali (Management Lead): I totally agree with you Abhishek.

Shireen: Indeed.

Smit and Vaishnavi, this excites me to know about your familiarities with the positions you have.

Vaishnavi (Outreach and WTM Lead): In being a part of the non-technical side of DSC, I acknowledge the organizations, under their guidance my journey as a Content Developer at Mitti Ke Rang, a social media intern at MicroGo, widening my horizon and lead to where I am today.

Hemang (Design Lead): Yes, MKR is indeed a great platform from my experience as well.

Vaishnavi (Outreach and WTM Lead): I have also participated as web development and data science researcher at Sahu technologies to dilate my knowledge which is in line with my ambitions.

Smit (Web Lead): Developing is something I am passionate about and it said, when one follows passion, doors to various opportunities open themselves in front of you and that was exactly the approach I implemented. I got my first paid-internship in the first semester of my college, due to my past C# game developing skills and I completed it as the Lead C# Game developer.

Surya (Android Co-Lead): From what I know, Smit created our website on GitHub pages literally from scratch in a matter of days. The features and functionality were mind-blowing. I found the atmosphere of the community suitable to enrich one’s interests. I love building scripts to optimize time-consuming tasks because that’s what matters at the end, which opened my windows of opportunities in the world of freelancing. I have worked with many international clients and made projects for them. The developer culture here allowed me to continue to follow my interest as a freelancer without interruption.

Shireen: Wow people, I take you as my inspiration to work towards my dreams, thank you for motivating me to the core.

My next question arises from a basic idea of applying a theoretical thesis in project-based learning and mending the differences between the two. So Abhishek, please share your project history.

Abhishek (DSC Lead): I believe in utilizing and demonstrating what we are taught as until and unless we don’t practice, we cannot guarantee a long term understanding of the concept. In brief, to list some of the projects I have interceded in are:
Devops_App — shorthand application developed in Java
Open-Source-Helper — Web Application
Todo Using Django-Rest framework — CRUD and Django Ajax CRUD
Project-COVID-19 and HackCovid — that gives live statistics of Covid 19
Techera -it aims at accelerated development in the field of technology and Computing
Snake PyGame — Tkinter application-based project
I contemplate these as achievements including the certifications I received from organizations like Microsoft, Deloitte, Hackerrank, Google, Coursera, cybrary, etc, and scoring 6 stars in problem-solving and programming at Hackerrank. I will always be grateful for it.

Anjali (Management Lead): 6 starts on hackerrank is definitely not easy. I have been trying CP as well, and Abhishek has been supportive. It’s something in which you really need to put up your time and dedication in practicing cp, then only you are going to get through the proper understanding of cp concepts rather than just learning concepts or solutions to those questions.

Shireen: Well, that was overwhelming. That’s really impressive.

Siddhant and Aman, what about you guys?

Siddhant (Android Lead): According to me, a healthy competitive environment is a brain-sport for me and I see through these windows to stand in platforms like Quiz-Bee. It is an online-based quiz platform that extensively implicates technologies like HTML, CSS, Django, Python. The plethora of Books-Android Based Platform where students have access to all academic contents provided with the best tutorial consists of competitive as well as academics class-subject wise. Moving forward, I studied data visualization stimulated android apps that favor users to grasp the concepts of Data-Structure.

Sarthak (Technical Lead): Yes, Data Structures is a must for an aspiring developer. I have worked on the same using Java.

Aman (ML Lead): Wow that was amazing.

As for me, I have worked on Image De-Noiser using Autoencoders: In this project, I implemented an autoencoder architecture that helps solve one of the most inherent problems faced while working on image data — hindered inference performance due to noise (distortions) within the data. The neural network that I implemented uses supervised learning to remove noise from the images, thus allowing for a better inference. Another application was on Melanoma Detection: for this project, I implemented a neural network for detecting the presence of melanoma (skin cancer) within lesion images.

Ishika (Content and Digital Marketing Lead): Oh yes, Aman is really good at projects. I have seen him grind like crazy. Achieving accurate results in AI-ML models can be really tough.

Aman (ML Lead): Yes that’s true. But sleepless nights were certainly worth it.

As ultimately, I established an Early Heart Anomaly Warning System: A heart attack usually is preceded by several other symptoms like high blood pressure, hypertension, etc. I finalized an unsupervised learning system that analyzes various heart-related parameters for any anomalous observations to warn the user before things might reach the fatal stages. Surely, it’s just the beginning.

Shireen: A sense of yearning and aspiration that you all have shown is commendable.

Surya, a straight-forward question for, what makes you stand out among your peers?

Surya (Android Co-Lead): I would like to recognize the project of which I am extremely proud of as it was selected for the National Science Exhibition 2018 but that is just the technical part but another achievement for which I feel the same way as being a certified mountaineer under BMC by JIM&WS.

Shireen: That is so cool Surya, you seem to be an individual who maintains his balance between hobbies along with work.

One needs to assess his or her preferences to have a clear goal to focus on, and this brings me to Anjali and Hemang what field catches your attention that you would like to participate in.

Hemang (Design Lead): One of the reasons to play the role of the design lead in DSC is how captivated I was by the technique behind UI/UX and graphic design and the joy of making things look simple, beautiful, and understandable. Not only that, AR/VR development excites me by just thinking of all the things that were obscured but now that I imagine myself as someone who can make use of the knowledge attained and create vast applications.

Shireen: It makes me feel worthy by acknowledging the efforts that you all root and long to pay off.

Anjali (Management Lead): For me, competitive coding is the avocation where implementing & creating algorithms to solve problems is the aim. Web development or software development presents an opportunity to express our creativity and the power to reach people through innovation. I think it’s a great choice for someone who seeks an exciting coding career. To add, product design and development is an alternative to generate and achieve similar results to leave an impression on your audience, and that is exactly what I look forward to.

What I really love about product development is you don’t know how much impact even a small product can create in this world. It feels amazing to see that perspective and solve real-world problems with your products that in the coming days or at that time people around the world are using it and getting some point of satisfaction in their work.

Shireen: How amazingly diverse this team is!!

Hemang (Design Lead): I agree, as my experience so far has been incredible. The coordination we share as we plan our events and watch each other’s back, all are astonishing in their ways.

Surya (Android Co-Lead): Fantastic to be honest. It is a very close-knit community. They are not only great developers, but they have become close friends as well. The level of enthusiasm everyone shows always keeps the environment assertive.

Shireen: Yes, we expect great things from you all.

The final question of the day, how do you see DSC as a strong suit for your future? Ishika what do you think?

Ishika (Content and Digital Marketing Lead): I like to challenge myself everyday and create the best of the opportunities given. Since my specialization is AI, I would like to explore more of it. Integrating my love for writing somehow will certainly be a bonus.

Shireen: What about you Smit?

Smit (Web Lead): I plan to dive into the field of Web Development and Software engineering. DSC gave me a chance to express myself in front of people who are either better than me, to learn from them, or who are beginners as I can share my knowledge with them. Eventually, it benefits me and others equally.

Rather, Anjali is into Software too.

Anjali (Management Lead): I look forward to being a software and product developer. DSC helped me build an influential network in the community of developers and learn by interacting with the community and growing together not just for technical knowledge but also soft skills that are not taught but induced, from workshops and webinars DSC organizes.

Hemang, you too share your objective towards UX and UI designing.

Hemang (Design Lead): I plan to work towards the industry of design and development and execute projects. DSC enhances my skills of design, development cycle, and teamwork and how to present your project to the wider audience and make them learn and grow with you.

Shireen: So one last thing, if any of our members would like to conclude by their advice for people interested in joining DSC.

Siddhant: Joining DSC presents many opportunities to learn more about yourself, your goals, and your strengths. You can learn from how other students handle certain situations and improve your current knowledge. You can also find out what you are good at, whether that’s multitasking, staying organized, generating ideas, or serving others. This self-awareness will be beneficial for your career.

Sarthak (Technical Lead): All I can say is, it doesn’t matter how much you know but rather how much you’re willing to know.

DSC is an initiative that helps students build their professional and personal networks and generates teamwork skills to work with their peers. Knowledge and learning are limitless, and technology is vast nowadays. The world has already switched to digital. And hence, putting in efforts, serious work, and time into a skill can help you grow. It helps in developing organizational, and leadership skills, adaptability according to peers, and time management skills to meet deadlines. For sure a good way to find out about yourself and your passion and this is where DSC comes into play. A small step today can help you build your career tomorrow.

Shireen: Thank you all for your active participation. It was a pleasure interviewing all of you.

--

--

Shireen
GDSCVITBhopal

BE enthusiast! P.s. BE stands for biomedical engineering! 🦾