Being A Designer

Faith Olohijere
gdscaefunai
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2021

I’ve always wanted to design. I’ve admired designs and wanted to author designs too.

When I heard about the Des & Dev Bootcamp from a friend, I knew I couldn’t let the opportunity pass me by. I attended the meetup the next day. Believe me, I’m so enjoying that decision right now😁.

It was my first community experience and I never knew clubs like the DSC AE-FUNAI existed in my school. I was so delighted to know about it.

On the first day of the Bootcamp, I met a lot of designers and developers. They included persons that were more “techie” than me. I was marveled and quite intimidated.

As the meetup continued, I observed that no one tried to show off their knowledge. I was so amazed by the way the GDSC lead Obumuneme Nwabude and other experts handled the beginners with so much patience. I started my UI/UX Design journey and have made various designs.

I designed a clone of the Google Search page, check it out:

From the Bootcamp, I learned the importance of having an online presence. In fact, I’ve worked towards getting it for myself.

I learned how to be confident in myself — how to post my work even if it could be better. I also learned some rare and special design tips from our design lead, Emmanuel Chukwuemeka

There a lot of benefits to being a UI/UX designer. I’m so glad to be one! (well, one in the making😹). Apart from this being a hobby, it could also be my career choice. Of course, I can actually make a profit from this 😎.

The best thing about this Bootcamp is that it’s totally FREE! My excitement was tripled when I heard this.

I’m looking forward to learning more things and showing them off. I’m sooooooooo excited to be a part of this.

Thank you, Google!!!❤️

--

--