I’m enjoying this UI/UX design journey …

Echetanna Nwankwo
gdscaefunai
Published in
2 min readMay 2, 2021

--

“A picture is worth more than a thousand words!”

Design is Life!

I’m fascinated by good designs. I’m attracted to eye-appealing arts. Colors and layouts always draw my attention.

Funny enough, I was never good at anything meant for the eyes to admire. Drawing was never my thing. I scored F at ordinary sketches and simple technical drawings.

I became sad at some point. I had assumed that I needed to be an exceptional artist before I could make any progress in design. Worse? I criticized people’s designs without proposing corrections nor knowing how to design. I grew sadder, as I couldn’t come up with anything to boast about. I would criticize myself: “You can’t do anything worth looking at, and yet you dare criticize people’s work.” 😥

The Journey

This has always been my fate until I joined the Google Developer Student Clubs on my campus. From there, I also joined Genesys Campus Club. A while after joining, the two clubs collaborated and organized a Bootcamp (DES & DEV). The Bootcamp had two tracks: UI/UX design and web development.

I chose UI design, after all that’s what I’ve always loved. The Bootcamp was to last for six weeks. We were in week two and my terrible drawing skills haven’t improved.

However, the bootcamp made me confident to start designing. It let me know that I don’t need to be a great artist to make great designs. And that sincerely has made all the difference.

I am now enjoying my UI/UX design journey. I can now comfortably criticize any work without having to beat myself up later😅😂. I’m loving it❤️. And that’s because I was able to do this 👇

Thank You!

, , #weAreGenesys #GDSCAEFUNAI

--

--