My Journey to DESIGN

Chinwendu Onyeani
gdscaefunai
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2021

--

So much content, so much I wanted to do, so many pictures, … and they were all in my head. This was how it started for me: a passion to tell stories with pictures and designs. These were all I had for a start. I tried my hands on various tools and lessons. Unfortunately, they made little or no impact to satisfy the hunger in me.

The journey started as a high school graduate with so many visions of what the world could look like. Oh, if only you could have a look at the beautiful things in my head!

Having no prior design knowledge was a hard obstacle to achieving my dreams. Worse? I didn’t even know the tools I would be needing.

I started making efforts …

This was my reality for a while. Then when I spent time with the internet and the wonderful repositories of content (Youtube, Coursera, Udemy, …), the story started changing. Thanks to these platforms, I started working towards where I had always wanted to be. They became my trusted tutor and companion for the journey.

I kept on striving …

At that stage, things were getting interesting and the hunger kept increasing. I knew I needed more resources. I continued trying new things on a daily basis. The passion kept growing. But then, it was still me and the available internet resources. I needed something more practical. I decided to take things to the next level.

My first jobs

Having learned a few basic design elements, I had to satiate myself. At that point, I was not yet good enough to work on paid projects. I volunteered in designing graphics for my friends and some organizations. In turn, I received constructive criticisms and got better at what I do.

These were my first clients. Their jobs were worth the effort. Every new birthday card, anniversary poster, flyer, and other designs were greeted with positive feedback. All these inspired me to put in more effort.

Though at times, some of my designs received harsh feedback, I didn’t give up. I had two options: get out or get better. Of course, I stayed put and entered into the next phase of my journey: collaboration.

Collaborating

I moved from doing things alone to learning in a team. As the saying goes: “No one is an island”.

This new approach became my solid link to doing things and doing them in better ways. I became more creative working with people — something I would not achieve alone. It was within my circle that I got informed about the Google Developer Student Clubs. I couldn’t wait to join them.

DSC AE-FUNAI is the home of enthusiastic individuals in technology. It was easy for me to meet people in GDSC. I learn from them and collaborate with them to build various products. I take part in different programs that have catapulted my skills.

DES & DEV Bootcamp

One of such events was the DES & DEV Bootcamp. It was a program in which participants learned either UI/UX Design or Web Development (One had to choose only one learning track). During the DES & DEV Bootcamp, I made various sleek and mind-blowing designs.

Check out the Google Search Clone I designed with Figma:

Special thanks to Obumuneme Nwabude, the GDSC lead who put in immeasurable efforts to organize different events like this Bootcamp. Also thanks to Emmanuel Chukwuemeka, the UI/UX Design mentor for the program. I also appreciate all the core team members that made DES & DEV this fruitful.

GDSC and these awesome volunteer leaders have taught me things I didn’t know. They have also become a great part of my design journey, which is this story I’m telling.

I hope my journey continues to my expected destination, but while I’m on it, let the fun CONTINUE!!!

Thank You!

--

--