Noob to Flutter Facilitator!

Abhay Ubhale
Developer Students Club, VJTI
5 min readMar 11, 2022

Fluttering my way through App Development

One fine morning I received a message from a friend to download an application from PlayStore. Suddenly that fine morning turned into an anxious and curious day of searching about how I can make my own apps. After exhaustive searching, I found there were only two popular ways — Android in Java or Kotlin and iOS in Swift. During that period, I got an opportunity to work with a startup on an Android (Java) app. Personally, I don’t like Java much (from the experience while working with this startup). Also, I found out you need an iOS device to develop swift apps which weren’t available either (Because I have 2 completely functional Kidneys that I don’t want to lose🤣). So the only choice left with me was to go for Kotlin. You might be wondering why I didn’t mention Flutter. That’s because it wasn’t that popular back then. I’m talking about March 2020, the beginning of the CoronaKaal and the FlutterKaal!

Coronakaal — the Covid times👀

FlutterKaal — the Flutter time🤩

To be honest, I was bored with all the XML syntax and long Java Classes, etc. which made me shift my interest towards Web Development for a while. I don’t get why it didn't strike me before to just ask my friend how he made his app. He then suggested using “Flutter”. I was like, What is that?

Googling some things about this new technology, I was awestruck by the features and the ease it offers. The hot reload and restart, simple yet powerful widgets, no XML, no Java syntax, etc. made me fall in love with this tech.

Everyone was utilizing their corona holidays to do something productive, learning new skills while I was sitting in the corner of my room feeling inferiority complex. Meanwhile, CoC introduced the Inheritance program for our batch. I decided to stop venting and make an app with Flutter under this mentorship program. The next thing I know, I got my hands on a Flutter course that explained everything from scratch (it is probably outdated now).

One thing I knew from my coding experience so far was, “Perseverance is the key to being a good developer”. Within a month, I completed that course making around 15 apps each focusing on a bunch of concepts. These apps didn’t have the credibility of a project. Although they gave a nice learning-focused implementation for concepts and terminologies.

Flutter is basically a cross-platform framework. With this tech, you have to write code only once in Dart language to make your app run on multiple platforms including Android, iOS, Web, Linux, Windows, and macOS. Dart is very easy to use due to its close resemblance to C++ syntax. It has something called widgets. We can think of them as CSS beautified HTML tags from the Web.

A few months passed, and it was November 2020, the period when my mom was struggling to get her B.Ed degree notes. I asked her if I could make an app for her where people can share their notes. On January 1, I released my first app on PlayStore only to realize after a few days that it was not affordable. I don’t want to go into the nitty-gritty of it. The community around this tech was still growing back then. However, I learned my lesson, “Nothing is too easy!”.

I got a chance to work for one more startup; luckily it was a Flutter app. I was also doing Web Dev simultaneously hence handling their NodeJS backend as well. Making that app helped me regain my confidence and inspired me to work harder for my next app PDF with Abby. Surprisingly, I created that app in just 2 days (not bragging, wait, yes I’m!😜). This time, I didn’t forget to get continuous feedback from the users and roll out consistent updates. I learned another lesson, “Nothing is too difficult!”.

Flutter made all this process so easy for me. Right from making the app to its deployment, it was all so smooth! The Flutter documentation is very neat and tidy. Firebase (a serverless services platform) by Google with its easy integration always came in handy while making Flutter apps. Not to mention the dramatic increase in the number of Flutter developers and thus the community. This was the exact period when the Google Developer Students Club (GDSC) came into existence at VJTI. I was approached to write a few blogs for this very same medium publication and collaborated with very amazing seniors back then.

Meanwhile, I got in touch with my junior college friends who also got interested in learning Flutter. Turns out they were vibing the same so I teamed up with them winning multiple hackathons (all were Flutter apps only!).

I have explored way more in the vast domain of Web Dev, but still, Flutter somehow connects with me more! Fast-forward to October 2021, the new GDSC team was formed and I became the App Development lead. I was very disappointed to learn that there was no Flutter event mentioned 🥺. After 3 months of various activities through Cloud and Android campaigns, Guest lectures, etc., I was hoping for something in Flutter as well. Then Google be like,

Surprise Surprise My Friend … Flutter Festival is on!🙂😌

Flutter Festival got officially announced. The dates were too soon and I was asked to be a Flutter Facilitator, within a blink of an eye I said Yes! I don’t regret learning Flutter the hard way but will surely regret not sharing what I have learned through my experience with others.

At this Flutter Festival, we bring you the ultimate hands-on session to make a cross-platform application. Yes! You will walk out with your own mobile app to flaunt it to your friends, family, and Sharma Ji.

This was all about me and my darling Flutter. If you have any queries regarding anything, feel free to reach out to me at

If you want to see my apps on PlayStore,

If you like my experience with Flutter and this blog, please leave some applauds👏 so that I get motivated to write more.

--

--

Abhay Ubhale
Developer Students Club, VJTI

Barclays Intern 2022 | Currently pursuing Computer Engineering at Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute (VJTI)