How to Set Your Cover Image on Medium?

Sri Handayani
DSF Web Services Engineering
3 min readDec 21, 2021

Hello, everyone. Are you newbies on Medium who are in a mood to explore all features in it? You are not alone. Let me share you a simple thing that might help you to fix your problem, especially with inappropriate cover image.

Cover by DSF Web Services

What’s the Problem?

Recently, I managed my department’s blog on Medium. I followed what was already there. I designed a cover image for every post and published it together with the whole article wrote by our developers. I set nothing and it usually worked by itself to set the first photo to be the cover image.

One day, I did everything as usual. But, the first picture I posted was not being the cover image. I tried to delete it and to reupload it, but it didn’t work. Because I haven’t found any solution yet, I let it as the way it is. But later, it happened again to the next posts.

Inappropriate cover images

What’s the Solution?

For your information, both articles contained pictures with .png format. It might be ridiculous, but the solution for this problem is very simple. I found at least two solutions.

Firstly, for the article titled “Bagaimana Memperbaiki Error “avax.net.ssl.SSLHandshakeException:java.security.cert.CertPathValidatorException: Trust anchor for certification path not found”, I did it this way:

  1. Download the second picture which become the cover

2. Save the picture as .jpeg

3. Reupload it

4. Reload the page and see the result at the main page

In my case, when I reload the main page, the cover image was changed into the first one. So, it worked!

Unfortunately, it did not happened to the other article titled “Introducing Locust: a Python Load Testing Tool.” The good news is that we found a simpler and easier way. You can use these following steps if you find the same problems:

1. Open the article

2. Click three dots sign on top of the page

3. Click “edit story”

4. Click “change featured image”

5. Click the picture that you want to set as the cover image

6. Click “save and publish”

7. See the result at the main page

Appropriate cover image

And here we go, both articles are now having their appropriate cover image. I really hope that this small steps can help you to have better page and make your readers more comfortable to stay. See you on my next article!

--

--