Good Job Unsplash — Coincidence Or Very Good UX?

Aleksandar Pleško
.dsgnrs.
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2017

As a Designer, I spend a lot of time getting inspired and downloading content that can improve quality of my work.

Not long time ago I was searching for a photo on Unsplash.com for an UI project I have been working on.

After a while, when I have found and downloaded the photo, something unexpectedly happened. The new pop up window for exposing the photographers appeared.

www.unsplash.com

So, what is weird on this pop up you may ask?

The thing is that I, without even thinking, clicked on the top right angle expecting to close the pop up, not seeing that the close interaction is not even there. Instead I clicked on Twitter Icon and almost ‘Tweeted’ the photo.

After a while I realised that Unsplash designers changed the position of CLOSE interaction by placing it into the top left angle.

Coincidence?

I dont think so…

When human brain adopt to certain action, it acts without thinking.

Keeping this in mind Unsplash designers changed the place of close interaction and replaced it with icons for social share.

Why?

  1. It is good way for photographers to get featured by people that download their photos.
  2. It is good a good way of Marketing for Unsplash as well.
  3. Everyone wins.

Pretty smart decision.

Since ‘Close’ interaction is always on the top right I automatically clicked on the icon without even looking. As usually my brain mechanism worked for itself. And yours will too.

Knowing this Unsplash team placed the social share icons on the right place aiming to increase Marketing.

Good job Unsplash, pretty smart Trick.

What can you learn from Unsplash?

Think about your product objectives and the things that you are trying to accomplish. Look outside of the box and than by breaking the rules get closer to your goals.

Thank you for reading this article. If you liked it feel free to clap, comment and share so others can see.

Do not forget to visit my website and check my work.

Do you want to write your design thoughts on .dsgnrs. blog? Read more…

--

--

Aleksandar Pleško
.dsgnrs.

Observing the everyday environment to solve problems that matter.