My first time being paid to create

Alyssa Duetsch
Digital Scholarship Lab @MarquetteRaynor
3 min readOct 30, 2018

The sense of pride and accomplishment that comes from completing a digital media project is something that nothing else can give you. To me, it doesn’t matter if it is a class assignment or something just for fun.

However, when you first get paid to create a digital media project, not only is there a sense of pride and accomplishment, but you also feel appreciated. You realize that your work is recognized and worth something by someone else.

Last year, my friend’s mom asked me to design a notebook cover for her book club. I love creating so it was an obvious answer: absolutely. I’m a student actively wanting to learn and find experience; I would have done it for free. However, she insisted on paying me. It was the first time I was paid to create something outside of my job as a Digital Scholarship Tutor.

Alyssa’s Book Club design.

It was a brand new experience for me but a very valuable one. It was not just valuable because I was paid; it was valuable because for the first time, my work was created for someone outside of myself and outside of school.

Here is what I learned:

Your project will be limited

You will be given guidelines, colors, ideas, etc that you cannot compromise on. Listen to them.

My friend’s mom gave me colors to use and a design idea. I listened to them and worked with them. This can be nice because you aren’t expected to come up with something out of thin air. It can also be discouraging because you might (and probably will) disagree on things. Because you are being paid, your say is not as important as theirs. However, your ideas are still important; they did hire you. It is a tough balance to find, but helpful when you find it.

You will run into 2 different confidence struggles

  1. You might run into being overconfident. Because you might not have a lot of experience going into the project (like me), you might not understand all of the struggles you can run into. Because of this, you might go into the project overconfident in your abilities. There’s nothing wrong with that — it’s good to be confident. However, overconfidence runs the risk of being harmful to the project and hurting the relationship with your client.
  2. On the other side, at times you will get stuck and not feel like you are talented or smart enough to be doing this project. You’ll tell yourself that you are only a student and you might feel defeated.

This is what I had to tell myself:

Yes, you are a student. But you are a student who is passionate about the work and love to create. You are also a student who is recognized as being talented enough to be paid for your work. You might not know everything at this point, but this is just another learning opportunity. Take advantage of it.

You will get frustrated

There were plenty of points in the process where I got frustrated and thought I might let her down. Sometimes walking away and coming back is the best idea. There’s no shame in needing a break.

The reward is so great (but not in the way you would think)

Yes, I got paid. No, that was not the best reward.

For me, the best feeling was receiving the email from my client in which she told me how much she loved my work. At that point, the money seemed insignificant to me. I was happy that she was happy. I was proud in a way I had not been before.

I am very happy that I took this opportunity and I hope that more like it come my way.

I talk a lot about loving my major and how much I love to create. I truly think my passion is why I have been fortunate to come across opportunities like this.

I think it is important to make it known where your passions lie. Then other people will catch on and even hire you to do what you love. What’s better than that?

--

--