Emily Kate Price
1 min readMay 3, 2016

--

Toy Story is my all-time favorite Pixar movie, so I love this reference to the coincidences of Toy Story! Rule number 19, that you mentioned, is my favorite part about this reading as well. The idea of coincidences being used to get characters into trouble but not out of it is something I try to keep in mind in my fiction classes. I think it works best if fate and coincidences drag someone into trouble, but I love the idea of a character having to fight their way out. I think this coincidences rule can also be seen in other Pixar movies. An example I thought of immediately is Finding Nemo. Nemo gets captured by coincidence, but Dory and Marlin have to look long and hard to get him back. That rule works perfectly, and makes for great stories!

--

--