Memes and The Man of Steel

Hudson O'Neill
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 1
3 min readSep 13, 2018

I’m not a huge Facebook guy, really I never have been. Back in high school I was on it a little bit but never got into like most people did. So when I get ask to go on the internet and not use Facebook or any social media, no problem. I simply turned to the god of the internet Reddit, a site that can take you into the deep dark areas of the internet that you never knew you would end up on. The most interesting part about your exploration each time you go on this site is that you never go on Reddit with any purpose or any specific one at least. You just end up finding one, a topic catches your eye and then you are off.

The topic that caught my eye because I notice so many post about it was what is going on with the EU right now. I didn’t know much about it, the only thing I knew about it was that it had something to do with banning memes. The only reason I knew that was because I saw some memes about it. So I clicked on a post about the passing of Article Thirteen. I read through it and learned that the Eu passed a restriction on copyright laws or something. honestly I didn’t fully understand it, I came out of it more confused and I didn’t read the whole thing because I got distracted by a side link talking about the new Iphone. My first thought was “oh new iPhone, let me check this thing out I for sure can’t afford”. So I jumped on over to google, and a typed in iPhone Xs. I started to read and watch a video on the debut of the new phone, again didn’t last long on it, mainly because it made me mad that I won’t be able to buy this tell the iPhone 23 comes out.

I then shifted my interests to what I’m usual on the internet looking at, movie news and production. I headed over to my favorite Movie news website screenrant.com. I quickly learn that there has been big news in the world of movies, Henry Cavil who plays Superman is apparently stepping away from the role. This was pretty shocking to me, while Dc movies themselves have been a straight dumpster fire (minus Wonder Woman). I thought Henry cavil was a good Superman, he just needed a better script. I jumped over to Youtube to see what a few of my favorite movie vloggers are saying about the situation. Most of them were pretty shocked about it but said they could see how this could could happen because of the disaster that has been the DCEU. I also learned that Michael B Jorden is being considered for the role. I scrolled down to the comments of the video seeing what people are saying about that and about half the people are freaking out. Saying “Superman isn’t black blah blah, this dumb blah blah blah.” I’m thinking “I don’t care what Color superman is White, Black, Asian, Blue, if they get a good Actor sweet, what they really need to focus on getting a good director. I saw someone comment that So I liked his Post and responded to him/her saying I agreed with that a 100%.

After that My dérive was complete, It wasn’t really anything special, it was simply another day on the internet learning about news from one source to the next. I realized writing this how crazy it is the amount of info a news I read about in such a short time. How quick I can learn and become pretty well read on a topic, while also having a topic like the EU that I can read about and still feel pretty dumb on the subject because my mind wonders off. Thats what the internet does I guess.

--

--