‘What’s New’

Nicolas Wolfe
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 1
2 min readSep 13, 2018

Since it said no Facebook, it is half challenge and half easy. Because I always have Facebook tab there no matter what I do homework, read articles online, or check email. So, all I can do is just close the Facebook tab. But I have use Messenger on my phone, it gets me wonder do it count? I only use it to talk with people, not check their status, news and some stupid spams. Then I open the google. I have no idea where to start. I am not fan of YouTube because of no caption or low accurate which are frustrating for me. So, I type “What’s new?” and enter. Google give me explain what it means. I skip it and see CNET (news about technology, gadget, sciences, etc). Not my favorite but often it has good information about technology and most of time if I want to know about computer (I build custom computer), I research which is best graphic card, CPU, etc. it often led me to CNET. So, I don’t mind kill other 30 minutes read some random articles CNET offer. First article in CNET I read about new Phone X which will come out this September 14. I am not fan of Apple myself but heard a lot of good thing about it. But their capitalism always lost my interesting. For example, I picked PC over MAC because I can custom and upgrade it anytime for low cost compare to IMAC which cost ridiculous amount of money for same thing. I decided to look for new phone because my contact with phone company is over, I research on Project Fi that my brother talk about. I like the idea you pay what you use data for. For example, it cost $10 on each 1 GB data. If I pay $40 but use only less than 2 GB, it will decrease for next month where I will pay $20 dollars. But I must pay ‘membership,’ phone cost monthly and data plan in total. Which will cost about $60–80 dollars which is same as my currently phone monthly which I was not happy with but stuck with it. I check Pixel 2 and I remember it released last year and I check google. I was right and found out that there will be Pixel 3 will be announcements on October 8. I am curious what it will look like and how good it will be. CNET and other articles give some guess and expect will be same or better than new iPhone X. All I can do is to wait for it to come out. Then I think I passed 30 minutes of “derive” on internet. The reasons I don’t see any spam ads because I have ‘uBlock’ on my Firefox add-on. I love it because it will not bother me while I read the articles.

--

--