YouTube Can Take You Far... Literally

Courtney Hairgrove
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 1
3 min readSep 13, 2018

Everyday I catch myself mindlessly wandering through the internet whether it be on Facebook, random Google searches, or online shopping. But since we couldn’t use Facebook, I thought I would just start with the website that I use the most, YouTube. I love watching YouTube videos because it’s such an amazing source to find content creators, unique videos, people and so much more.

My YouTube addiction probably started in 4th grade. My friends and I would post videos dancing to Katy Perry, jumping on the trampoline, and singing videos (yikes). Since then, I have used YouTube for different things. Over the past 10 years, I began to grow obsessed with the beauty community on Youtube. I watched the industry grow and now the beauty community is the biggest industry on YouTube. One of my favorite people in the beauty industry is Jeffree Star. He is probably the funniest, most unique, and realist YouTubers to this day. With that being said, I had to start off my digital dérive with a Jeffree Star video of course. I watched a video that I’ve already watched before because it features Shane Dawson, another well known YouTuber.

After finishing the video, I looked at the description box where he had various links to many different sites and people who were featured in the video. I clicked on a link that had an interesting title and that I knew would lead me to other weird places on the internet.

During the video I kept scrolling and randomly clicking on different YouTubers who left comments. I then got to a YouTuber who posted videos of singers and artists performing at concerts. One of the videos in specific was called Monsta X getting Lit on stage WONHO CAM. I had no idea who Monsta X was so I had to googled it, naturally. I soon found myself on Wikipedia reading about this band. Monsta X is a South Korean boy band who was formed by Starship Entertainment. I kept reading about their band and learned that they were from Seoul.

Completely off topic from where I started, I now was on the Wikipedia page reading about Seoul, South Korea. I was learning more and more about a place that I never really knew anything about and definitely have never traveled to. After reading about South Korea I started to think about travel and how I needed a vacation, badly. So, I went onto Google searching for flights to New York (which I was also doing 2 nights ago) and found flights for cheap! I texted a bunch of my friends asking them to spontaneously go to New York with me, but we didn’t end up buying tickets because we all realized how much money we have in our bank accounts. Then that made me realize that I really needed to start working more and stop trying to spend money… So i quickly got off the internet to save myself from somehow ending up on an online shopping website.

Overall, the internet is a crazy place. From Jeffree Star to South Korea to spontaneous New York City travels, the internet can literally take you anywhere. It opens up your mind to new possibilities and new adventures, giving you new experiences. It can give you an opportunity to learn about new people and their interests. You can become more knowledgable and informed on things you may not know about. The internet helps you grow, and that’s what I love about it.

--

--