mary galkowski
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 2
2 min readSep 13, 2018

--

As I was scrolling through my phone I found myself navigating to various websites, platforms and other sorts of entertainment and media. I first went to Pinterest and was looking up room decor, as I typically always do, and then I was distracted by a record player that was from urban outfitters. This one was a dark brown and mine is a light blue, which I was very intrigued about so I opened the Pinterest hyperlink associated with the thumbnail picture of the record player. This exited me out of my Pinterest app and took me to Google Chrome. While on UrbanOutfitters.com I then searched new vinyls that were out and actually ended up purchasing two records- Florence and the Machine and The Allman Brothers. Thankfully I had a gift card so that worked out nicely. I then navigated to the dress section as I have a formal coming up, I was pleasantly surprised with their selection, but the prices were slightly high so I went to Forever 21. Still no dice. While I was on my phone, I had Friends playing in the background on my T.V., and also noticed a tshirt dress from Forever 21 that had the Friends title screen logo on it. The episode I had on in the background was the episode where Ross and Rachel “WERE ON A BREAK”. Both of these two factors prompted me to look up “the Best of Ross and Rachel Moments” videos on YouTube, as the crazy fanatic that I am. This is where it lead to a long series of internet craze, per usual. As I began looking up Ross and Rachel videos, which suggested “Best of Pam and Jim” from the office. Tears down my face later, I looked up military videos of husbands coming home to their wives. Emotionally not okay, I then searched epic fail videos for the rest of the thirty minutes which was so funny. I also saw older videos from probably middle school era that really brought me back in time for a bit. I could hardly stop the internet addiction that leads from one thing to another. I realized that the internet has so much of an impact on the choices we make and how it is completely in our control to decide where we navigate to, whether that be consciously or subconsciously. This assignment really stood out to me and made me realize that because we never really even comprehend the beginning and end of being on our phone, laptop, etc. surfing the internet and where we start and where we finish before we finally double click and swipe out of our google chrome application and get back to reality on our homescreen.

--

--