Gretchen Shackelford
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 2
3 min readSep 13, 2018

--

From Nike to Estee Lauder- A Digital Derive Through Google

I decided to start my digital derive journey on the main home page for Medium. Not going to lie I was logging on to make sure I knew how to upload the assignment I was getting ready to work on, and an article struck my eye. The article, “Nike Will Not Lead a Brand Revolution” by Vanessa Taylor comes at a time where many people are divided on how to feel about the company’s 30-year anniversary campaign. From this article I decided to click on a hyperlink “already generated $43 million in media exposure” which took me to another article on Bloomberg (a website I had never heard of). I was given a lot of stats and numbers that I really didn’t care about until I came across a list of executives and board members for Nike. I decided to look up Mark G Parker (why the website had their middle initial I will never know) who is the Chairman/President/CEO who, as somebody that has been wearing Nike for forever, I had no idea who this man was. From there I decided to click on a Forbes article discussion how much money he was worth and what his annual income sallery was. From here I clicked on once again another hyperlink text bringing me to a list of other CEOs ranking them based on pay. One of the people on the list was William P. Lauder who is the CEO of Estee Lauder (a makeup company). From here I learned that he has only been the CEO for 2 years but has been working for the company for 20 years. I decided to try and find a list of past CEO’s for the company. I then went to the companies main page where I discovered that Lauder was the Executive Chairman and that Fabrizio Freda is credited as the President and Chief Executive Officer.

This was super interesting to me as Forbes does not have this same information listed on their website. If I would have not gone to the companies main page I would have never known that Freda was the companies CEO.

The biggest thing that shocked me as I was going from website to website is just how many pages a topic can generate on google. For example when I was looking up Mark G Parker over 15 pages generated with content related to him. The same happened when looking up Adidas CEO Kasper Rørsted just as a comparison point.

It’s also makes me think about the order that these pages are in and how they are put in that order. Is it based on search history and views that that particular page has received, or by the date that they were created. How would it change the “Google Experience” if they changed the order that information was given to you? I have never once when using Google ever gone to page 2 or even page 3 when trying to find information. I can always count on the answer or solution to the problem I am searching or information I am looking for to be on the first page.

I also quickly became overwhelmed at how many tabs I was starting to accumulate and how hard it was getting to go back and look at stuff I had seen previously. I had to move around some of the tabs as well as make then into their own individual window in order to remember what came after another.

For me this was an interesting experience but I never have been one to just spend time looking through all the information that is stored on the internet. I feel like a lot of information is never seen as there is just too much out there for you to read in one or even multiple settings.

--

--

Gretchen Shackelford
DST 3880W / Fall 2018 / Section 2

Student at the University of Missouri studying Interdisciplinary Studies with a focus on Digital Storytelling, Women and Gender, and Communications