?

Queen Butler
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 19, 2019

I started off my wandering on google. I first googled “Derive” to see what kind of site I could find. I only received results that gave the definition of the word, so I went back to google and searched something else. I decided that it’s best to search something that would interest me, so I searched puzzles. The results I got were websites for games only. I thought I would get a website that was designed to be like a puzzle, so for my desire I decided that I had to get more specific. I searched “interesting sites” and clicked a site called Dailyedge.ie. Out of all the results, Dailyedge.ie was one of the few sites without .com so I knew it was unique. It showed a list of “interesting” sites but only one caught my interest. The site was titled Level Up Life. It asked me to create a profile then it led me to a screen that showed my non existing profile picture and it read “Level 1” underneath. On the side it had my goals and different daily activities like entertainment, education, careers, and so on. If I were to complete a goal I could level up and gain points for my skills like charisma and intelligence based of what type of goal. I clicked around and made some goals, but I retreated when I notice I actually had to complete the goals IRL. The site’s purpose was to help you complete your goals by providing a checklist and your reward is leveling up while completing your goal of course. I went back to google and reworded my search to “interesting WEBsites”. The first result was a familiar site called Akinator. I’ve watched other people play it, but I never played it myself, so I was intrigued to try it out. The site involves a genie that can supposedly guess a character, animal, or an object that you are thinking of. I thought of the character Spongebob Squarepants, but I said it out loud. Akinator guessed my character right within the first few questions. I was surprised but I assumed somehow the site heard me from my computer mic, so I played it again and didn’t say my character’s name out loud. I thought about the character Michael Scott from the office and Akinator guessed it right again. At this point I was astounded by Akinator’s guessing skills, but I was still a little skeptic because I did choose well known tv characters. It even showed me how many times other players thought of the same character. My next thought was a small youtuber, Ricothegiant. After about over 50 questions and 3 wrong answers Akinator finally got it right. I thought of another small youtuber, but he couldn’t guess it right, so he asked me to submit the person I was thinking of. I came to the conclusion that Akinator receives his correct guesses from incorrect guesses when he asks for the name of the person. Then the creators of the site look them up and create questions that pertain to that person, object, or animal. I didn’t get too “deep” in the internet because I couldn’t really decide what to search but I did answer my question as to how Akinator, a website, was able to guess mine and other’s thoughts.

--

--