A digital Derive

Corey Gilmore
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 13, 2019

As I sit here recounting the past 12 hours of my day, I can’t help but wonder “How I can propel my business to new heights?” I was just told not even 6 hours ago that an audition I did for a TEDx talk could potentially go viral if I get selected, and shortly after I was bombarded nonstop at a social networking event because of the popularity that my podcast is generating. So, naturally, my first search into the Google search engine was “largest businesses in Columbia, MO.” The bigger the businesses and the more successful the entrepreneurs I can have on my show, the more it will grow. At least that’s what the data tells me, but I hope the real story is quite different. I hope that people will begin to want to hear from everyday business owners just as much as the rich and famous.

Natural that search then took me into looking at the Columbia Magazine article series “Top of the Town 2018,” where the magazine ranks the best of the best businesses in various categories. As I perused through the list I found many companies that I recognized, many of whom I know the owner and could get ahold of rather quickly. However, there were others that I was not familiar with and who I should do further research on. Should being the keyword here because suddenly I had a flashback to a memory of my father telling me about a podcaster a few days earlier which had nothing to do with the research I was already doing. Naturally, I followed this carrot all the way.

Super Joe Pardo is a business coach that helps others get their businesses on track, and one particular area of his expertise is in helping podcasters learn how to monetize their show. Although I should probably spend hours going down that rabbit hole, I stopped myself from that sleepless night. Yet again I was caught with another tangential distracting thought.

A few days ago, I had seen an ad showcasing a podcast episode released from New Legend 4x4 about the history of the International Scout. For those who have never heard of the IH Scout, it was the precursor (and much cooler version) of the Ford Bronco. This vehicle holds a special place in my heart because my great grandfather started an International Harvester dealership company back in the 40s. My grandfather took it over after him while my father helped alongside. The IH Scout is a symbol to me that the entrepreneurial blood runs thick within my family, and it proves to me that I am not completely insane for wanting to work for myself.

This all wraps up nicely into the idea that my entire derive for the experiment revolved around my love for business and how I will transmit that love into a profitable company. From podcasting and big businesses being potential podcast guests on my show to podcast coaches and podcast episodes about a family bond, I would say that this experiment went well. Podcasting is where I will start my journey, and I believe it is an industry that is about to change the service landscape forever.

Authored by: Corey Gilmore

--

--