A Digital Journey

Faith Power
DST 3880W / Fall 2019 / Section 2
3 min readSep 13, 2019

I began my digital journey by playing some music on Spotify. Post Malone’s album just came out recently, and I decided to listen to it again and save some songs that I liked to playlists. While doing this, I decided to do some online shopping. I’ve been looking for a very specific laptop case for a few weeks, but the one I’ve had my eye on is $75. I decided to look for a similar option that is more in my price range. I began by searching ‘crocodile leather laptop case’ in google. This came up with a huge range of options. I’m looking for the kind that attaches straight to your computer rather than a sleeve, and my search results included a lot of sleeves. I went back to google and tried to search for the non-sleeve cases, but I wasn’t sure what word was used to describe them. I decided to search for the specific case I wanted and use google’s similar search results function to find cheaper alternatives. As I clicked on different options, I noticed that Google recently changed how they display images. Instead of the previous display, photos are now displayed on the right side of the screen when clicked on. I personally preferred the old way better, and this got me thinking about why Google made this change. From here, I went back to Spotify to switch to a new album by Barns Courtney, another artist I listen to. Back on google, I finally found a case that I liked, and the link I clicked took me to Walmart. Unfortunately, this item was no longer available. After searching some more, I clicked on an image that sent me to Pinterest. I continued my search here before finally giving up. While on Pinterest, I decided to search for a recipe to make for dinner later tonight. I searched for ‘easy dinner recipes’ and found an image of parmesan zucchini and corn that looked good. I clicked on it, not realizing that it was promoted by Gerbes Market and took me to another site immediately rather than letting me preview the image. I was annoyed at first because I don’t like how hidden Pinterest ads can be, but I went to the site anyways. I was happy when I arrived at the site and the recipe was written at the top in an easy-to-read format. Usually, Pinterest recipes come from blogs which require you to scroll through an entire post to the very bottom to find a measurable recipe. I pinned this recipe for later use and made my way back to google to search how to renew your license in Missouri. I was out of the country for six months last semester, so I never renewed my license after turning 21. I found very detailed information on this process and wrote it down to remember for later. At this point I was shocked to find out an entire 30 minutes had passed me by. I switched off my Spotify playlist and concluded my journey.

--

--